When Winter Robeson Came

For fans of From the Desk of Zoe Washington, Brenda Woods’ When Winter Robeson Came is a novel in verse narrated by Eden, a Black girl who loves to compose music. In August 1965, Eden’s cousin Winter visits her family in Los Angeles in hopes of locating his father, who disappeared there ten years earlier. Between dancing to records and seeing the sights, Winter and Eden work together to solve the mystery, but their fun is cut short when riots break out in Watts, a nearby Black neighborhood. Inspired by the author’s experience of the Watts Rebellion as a child, this sweet story is a gentle and timely reminder of the history of police violence. Recommended by Mary

Pre-Order Now Badge
When Winter Robeson Came Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781524741587
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Nancy Paulsen Books - January 11th, 2022

The whole world seems to transform during the summer of 1965, when Eden’s cousin from Mississippi comes to visit her in L.A. just as the Watts Riots erupt, in this stirring new novel by Coretta Scott King Honor winner Brenda Woods.