The Tiger and the Cage

Emma Bolden’s The Tiger and The Cage is a vulnerable and visceral look at endometriosis and the healthcare field. Bolden has been plagued by excruciating pain, heavy menstrual bleeding, and fainting spells since her childhood. As she investigates what she later learns is aggressive endometriosis, she struggles with doctors, family, and friends. While she worries about her ability to have biological children, doctors and peers focus on her virginity, marriage, and misdiagnoses. The rage and anxiety Bolden captures illustrates her desire to both be heard and fit society’s expectations. The Tiger and The Cage is a powerful memoir of sexuality, the unpredictability of bodies, and societal norms that must necessarily be questioned. Recommended by Nikita

Pre-Order Now Badge
The Tiger and the Cage: A Memoir of a Body in Crisis By Emma Bolden Cover Image
$17.95
ISBN: 9781593767235
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Soft Skull - October 18th, 2022

For readers of Susannah Cahalan’s Brain on Fire and Porochista Khakpour’s Sick, this exquisitely wrought debut memoir recounts a lifelong struggle with chronic pain and endometriosis, while speaking more broadly to anyone who’s been told “it’s all in your head”