Non-Fiction Reviews

Needle in the Bone

I'm late to arrive at Lawrence-based writer Caryn Miriam-Golberg's book Needle in the Bone: How a Holocaust Survivor and a Polish Resistance Fighter Beat the Odds and Found Each Other. The book tells the difficult and yet ultimately triumphant tale of late Lawrence residents Lou Frydman and Jarek Piekalkiewicz who both survived Nazi death camps and marches during the Holocaust. Frydman, along with his brother Abe were taken by the German army during the Warsaw Ghetto uprising. By the end of the war, everyone in his extended family had been killed except the two brothers.

Staff Pick Logo
Needle in the Bone: How a Holocaust Survivor and a Polish Resistance Fighter Beat the Odds and Found Each Other Cover Image
$29.95
ISBN: 9781612345680
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Potomac Books - November 1st, 2012

Needle in the Bone tells the astonishing stories of Holocaust survivor Lou Frydman and former Polish resistance fighter Jarek Piekalkiewicz. As mere teenagers during World War II, the two men defied daunting odds, lost everything and nearly everyone in the war, and yet summoned the courage to start new lives in the United States.


Priestdaddy

Patricia Lockwood's memoir Priestdaddy is pretty unforgettable, primarily because nobody can craft a joke like Lockwood. She lends her manic comic energy to the story of moving home from Savannah to Kansas City after her husband's expensive eye surgery for a rare vision condition. Thing is, home is a bit stranger for Lockwood than for the rest of us: her father is a Catholic priest who's basically beyond description, but here goes: he walks around in boxers, playhs electric guitar loudly, is an ordained priest with five children, and watches Glenn Beck, well, religiously.

Staff Pick Logo
Priestdaddy: A Memoir Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9781594633737
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Riverhead Books - May 2nd, 2017

NEW YORK TIMES BOOK REVIEW 10 BEST BOOKS OF 2017

SELECTED AS A BEST BOOK OF THE YEAR:
The Washington Post * Elle * NPR * New York Magazine * Boston Globe * Nylon * Slate * The Cut * The New Yorker * Chicago Tribune


Notorious RBG: The Life and Times of Ruth Bader Ginsberg

As if we needed another reason to celebrate Ruth Bader Ginsberg! This book is about her insatiable desire to change the world and her commitment to equality. It is a great book for the ardent feminist, as well as a book for parents to read to their children. There are lots of photographs, timelines, and fun facts. This book is especially important with the recent addition  to the supreme court. Happy learning!  Recommended by Jenna.

Staff Pick Logo
Notorious RBG: The Life and Times of Ruth Bader Ginsburg Cover Image
$25.99
ISBN: 9780062415837
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Dey Street Books - October 27th, 2015

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

Featured in the critically acclaimed documentary RBG


Prince Charles: The Passions and Paradoxes of an Improbable Life

The new biography, Prince Charles: The Passions and Paradoxes of an Improbable Life by Sally Bedell Smith, is worth the time despite its girth. A teenager when Charles married Diana, I have long disliked and blamed him for all that followed. Smith's exhaustive exploration of his life has helped me move past that and even to appreciate the man for who he is: a reluctant royal with loves and ambitions that do not necessarily suit his role as the Queen and others might interpret it.

Staff Pick Logo
Prince Charles: The Passions and Paradoxes of an Improbable Life Cover Image
Email or call for price
ISBN: 9781400067909
Availability: Special Order
Published: Random House - April 4th, 2017

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER - The life and loves of Prince Charles are illuminated in a major new biography from the New York Times bestselling author of Elizabeth the Queen--perfect for fans of The Crown.


Consuming the Congo: War and Conflict Minerals in the World's Deadliest Place

How many times a day do you use your cellphone? Computer? Have a diamond ring? The western world depends on the minerals being harvested from the Congo, and the labor that which provides it. (Can also be spelled "Kongo") 5,000,000, yes, 5 million, you read that right, have died in the conflict in the Kingdom of Congo since WWII. This book explores first-hand experience, interviews, images, and data to educate readers on what is happening in the world's deadliest place.

Staff Pick Logo
Consuming the Congo: War and Conflict Minerals in the World's Deadliest Place Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781613736654
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Chicago Review Press - October 1st, 2016

Every time you use a cell phone or log on to a computer, you could be contributing to the death toll in the bloodiest, most violent region in the world: the eastern Congo.


Dig If You Will the Picture: Funk, Sex, God, and Genius in the Music of Prince

Ben Greenman’s Dig if You Will the Picture: Funk, Sex, God, and Genius in the Music of Prince doesn’t set out to be a biography (entirely) or a work of criticism (entirely) or a memoir (entirely), instead landing at a mostly-sweet spot in between. The result is a fun read, full of memorable insights and stories. Greenman splits his analysis into four sections, about Prince’s music, meaning, madness, and memory. It’s a nice structure for a book that slides around chronologically but never loses its grip.

Staff Pick Logo
Dig If You Will the Picture: Funk, Sex, God and Genius in the Music of Prince Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9781250128379
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Henry Holt & Company - April 11th, 2017

Named one of the best music books of 2017 by The Wall Street Journal

A unique and kaleidoscopic look into the life, legacy, and electricity of the pop legend Prince and his wideranging impact on our culture


Wonder Women: 25 Innovators, Inventors, and Trailblazers Who Changed History

This book is a collection of women "who broke barriers as scientists, engineers, adventures, and inventors." This is the kind of book I read before I fall asleep at night, and when I wake up in the morning. It features inspirational, incredible, witty, smart, amazing women who continue to prove to us that we can all aspire to do great things with our lives, and that WE SHOULD. This book is about Women who work in STEM, and women who study languages, and everyone in between. What kind of woman do you want to become? Recommended by Jenna.

Staff Pick Logo
Wonder Women: 25 Innovators, Inventors, and Trailblazers Who Changed History Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781594749254
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Quirk Books - October 4th, 2016

A fun and feminist look at forgotten women in science, technology, and beyond, from the bestselling author of THE FANGIRL'S GUIDE TO THE GALAXY

You may think you know women's history pretty well. But have you ever heard of. . .


Understanding Iraq: The Whole Sweep of Iraqi History, From Genghis Khan's Mongols to the Ottoman turks to the British Mandate to the American Occupation

This book explores the relationship between the West and the Middle East in a way that can be easily and quickly digested. Polk recreates and explains the US occupation and places an emphasis on the role that oil has played. The author's experience of over 50 years studying the country provides the reader with a hands-on sense of what is going on in Iraq and within the United States. Recommended by Jenna.

The Dramatic History of Iraq in One Concise Volume


In the Darkroom

In The Darkroom by Susan Faludi is an incredibly smart, probing act of memoir/biography. After a 27-year estrangement, Faludi gets an email from her father. The email says that he, formerly a toxic force of masculine energy, has undergone gender correction surgery and is now living as a woman in her native Budapest. The story of the evolving father/daughter relationship is worth the price of admission alone. But Faludi isn’t content to simply recount contemporary family events.

Staff Pick Logo
In the Darkroom Cover Image
$32.00
ISBN: 9780805089080
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Metropolitan Books - June 14th, 2016

PULITZER PRIZE FINALIST
ONE OF THE NEW YORK TIMES BOOK REVIEW'S 10 BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR
WINNER OF THE KIRKUS PRIZE

From the Pulitzer Prize-winning journalist and bestselling author of Backlash, comes In the Darkroom, an astonishing confrontation with the enigma of her father and the larger riddle of identity consuming our age.


Eleanor and Hick

Eleanor and Hick: The Love Affair That Shaped a First Lady by Susan Quinn. Though it's no secret that Eleanor Roosevelt had a long-term affair with journalist Lorena Hickok, Quinn's careful examination of their decades-long correspondence reveals the depth of both their love and fear during a time when such relationships were strictly verboten. The narrative views the tumultuous days of Depression, world war, and social change through the window of cultural trespass, which offers interesting insights into both a much-studied era and political icon.

Staff Pick Logo
Eleanor and Hick: The Love Affair That Shaped a First Lady Cover Image
Email or call for price
ISBN: 9781594205408
Availability: Special Order
Published: Penguin Press - September 27th, 2016

A warm, intimate account of the love between Eleanor Roosevelt and reporter Lorena Hickok--a relationship that, over more than three decades, transformed both women's lives and empowered them to play significant roles in one of the most tumultuous periods in American history


Pages