Nature Books

ART FORMS IN NATURE (KUNSTFORMEN DER NATUR) by Ernst Haeckel

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Art Forms in Nature (Dover Pictorial Archives) Cover Image
$15.95
ISBN: 9780486229874
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Dover Publications - June 1st, 1974

Ernst Heinrich Haeckel (1834-1919) was renowned as one of the foremost early exponents of Darwinism. His work was credited with having caused the acceptance of Darwinism in Europe, and his popular studies ― preaching the continuity of all life, organic and inorganic, from prehistoric time to the present ― converted tens of thousands of readers all over the world.


LIFE LIST by Olivia Gentile

Obsessions are hard to explain and even harder to justify if you’re a woman and they take you away from your family. Harder still if your obsession is "just" about birds. That’s why Olivia Gentile’s biography of Phoebe Snetsinger LIFE LIST is such an important book.
Life List: A Woman's Quest for the World's Most Amazing Birds Cover Image
Email or call for price
ISBN: 9781596911703
Availability: Hard to Find
Published: Bloomsbury Publishing PLC - March 30th, 2010

After her four kids were nearly grown and she was about to turn 50, Phoebe Snetsinger was told she had less than a year to live. Snetsinger, a St. Louis housewife and avid backyard birder, decided to spend that year traveling the world in search of birds.


New & Local: I & P Press Anthology

Imagination & Place: An Anthology, published by , the Committee on Imagination & Place of the Lawrence Arts Center This eclectic anthology offers poems, essays, and fiction that broaden the conversation about place and its relation to the natural world and human culture. Edited by The Raven’s own Kelly Barth, it features works by Harley Elliott, Benjamin Grossberg, Caryn Mirriam-Goldberg, Linda Rodriguez, and others.
Front cover painting(detail): Josh Adams, Untitled, 17" x 17.875", oil on panel, 2008.

FOREVER ON THE MOUNTAIN by James Tabor

The infamous 1967 McKinley climb of 1967 that took the lives of seven promising young mountaineers brought scandal and finger-pointing for years after. A climber himself and former Outside writer, Tabor tries to sift through the details and competing accounts (two of which were made into books of their own) to get to the still-beating heart of the matter.
Forever on the Mountain: The Truth Behind One of Mountaineering's Most Controversial and Mysterious Disasters Cover Image
Email or call for price
ISBN: 9780393331967
Availability: Backordered
Published: W. W. Norton & Company - June 1st, 2008

In 1967, seven young men, members of a twelve-man expedition led by twenty-four-year-old Joe Wilcox, were stranded on Alaska's Mount McKinley in a vicious arctic storm. All seven perished on what remains the most tragic expedition in American climbing history. Revisiting the event in the tradition of Norman Maclean's Young Men and Fire, James M.


Memoirist shares story of New York town’s environmental hazards

Kelly McMasters author of Welcome to Shirley: A Memoir From an Atomic Town public reading/discussion/signing Thursday, April 2 7PM @ The Raven Memoirist shares story of New York town’s environmental hazards. Check Kelly out at “Welcome to Shirley is an uplifting and disturbing hybrid of the personal and the journalistic.” –Meredith Hall “This intimate portrait
Welcome to Shirley: A Memoir from an Atomic Town Cover Image
Email or call for price
ISBN: 9781586486983
Availability: Special Order
Published: PublicAffairs - April 27th, 2009

Shirley, Long Island, has been plagued by one disaster after another—a UFO, a childhood cancer cluster, and a mysterious federal nuclear laboratory in nearby Brookhaven that leaked toxic nuclear and chemical waste into the aquifer from which the residents unknowingly drew their well water.

This is Kelly McMasters’ account of growing up in a cursed town and loving it anyway, and of


WANDERLUST: A HISTORY OF WALKING by Rebecca Solnit

Social critic and environmental writer, Solnit, wrote this book in 2000 and it is now available in paperback.  The essays explore the way all of us get around in our world, by walking.  The author looks at literature: Jane Austen’s Elizabeth Bennet who’s constant walking is both a part of the plot and a way of delineating her character, and she analyzes how our environment affects the way we are a
Wanderlust: A History of Walking Cover Image
$20.00
ISBN: 9780140286014
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Penguin Books - June 1st, 2001

A passionate, thought provoking exploration of walking as a political and cultural activity, from the author of Men Explain Things to Me


FLIGHT OF THE HUMMINGBIRD by Michael Nicoll Yahgulanaas

If you’re like me, you feel overwhelmed by the enormity of the environmental crisis and wonder whether small actions really make any difference. There’s healing to be found in a tiny, beautiful little book called FLIGHT OF THE HUMMINGBIRD by Haida native Michael Nicoll Yahgulanaas.
Flight of the Hummingbird: A Parable for the Environment Cover Image
Email or call for price
ISBN: 9781553653721
Availability: Backordered
Published: Greystone Books - March 1st, 2008

Hummingbirds have long been a symbol of wisdom and courage. In this charming story, a hummingbird makes a valiant effort to put out a raging fire that threatens her forest home -- trip after trip, her beak is filled each time with just a drop of water. Her efforts show her woodland companions that doing something -- anything -- is better than doing nothing at all.


ALEX AND ME by Irene Pepperberg

ALEX AND ME by Irene Pepperberg is a riveting account of the scientific and unmistakably intimate emotional relationship between this animal behaviorist and her late and now famous African grey parrot Alex.
Alex & Me: How a Scientist and a Parrot Discovered a Hidden World of Animal Intelligence--and Formed a Deep Bond in the Process Cover Image
$13.99
ISBN: 9780061673986
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Harper Perennial - September 1st, 2009

Alex & Me is the remarkable true story of an extraordinary relationship between psychologist Irene M. Pepperberg and Alex, an African Grey parrot who proved scientists and accepted wisdom wrong by demonstrating an astonishing ability to communicate and understand complex ideas.


FINDING BEAUTY IN A BROKEN WORLD

Nature writer and environmental activist Terry Tempest Williams has done it again. Her book FINDING BEAUTY IN A BROKEN WORLD will break hearts and mend them again. It’s a painfully honest, often challenging but always beautiful attempt to make sense of a post-911 world. Don’t miss it.  Recommended by Kelly.
Finding Beauty in a Broken World Cover Image
$17.95
ISBN: 9780375725197
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Vintage - October 6th, 2009

"Shards of glass can cut and wound or magnify a vision," Terry Tempest Williams tells us.


Pages