Kelly’s Reviews

LIFE LIST by Olivia Gentile

Obsessions are hard to explain and even harder to justify if you’re a woman and they take you away from your family. Harder still if your obsession is "just" about birds. That’s why Olivia Gentile’s biography of Phoebe Snetsinger LIFE LIST is such an important book.
Life List: A Woman's Quest for the World's Most Amazing Birds Cover Image
Email or call for price
ISBN: 9781596911703
Availability: Hard to Find
Published: Bloomsbury Publishing PLC - March 30th, 2010

After her four kids were nearly grown and she was about to turn 50, Phoebe Snetsinger was told she had less than a year to live. Snetsinger, a St. Louis housewife and avid backyard birder, decided to spend that year traveling the world in search of birds.


THE MAYOR OF CASTRO STREET by Randy Shilts

Though originally published in 1982, a couple of years after Harvey Milk’s death, THE MAYOR OF CASTRO STREET by the late Randy Shilts well deserves the recent re-release in the wake of the movie "Milk". The book not only captures the life and murder of the first openly gay person elected to any public office, it also provides a history of the gay revolution.
The Mayor of Castro Street: The Life & Times of Harvey Milk Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9780312560850
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Griffin - October 14th, 2008

The Mayor of Castro Street is Shilts's acclaimed story of Harvey Milk, the man whose personal life, public career, and tragic assassination mirrored the dramatic and unprecedented emergence of the gay community in America during the 1970s.


A VISITOR FOR BEAR by Bonny Becker

A VISITOR FOR BEAR written by Bonny Becker and illustrated by Kady MacDonald Denton will delight reader and child alike.  Bear’s resistance to visitors of any kind in his tidy but lonely home finally gives way under the pressure of Mouse’s persistent friendliness and modest requests for "a bit of cheese and a cup of tea."  This is a delightful tale about the reward of making a new friend
Visitor for Bear Cover Image
Email or call for price
ISBN: 9780763628079
Availability: Special Order
Published: Candlewick Press (MA) - February 26th, 2008

Cheery persistence wears down a curmudgeonly bear in a wry comedy of manners that ends in a most unlikely friendship.


FOREVER ON THE MOUNTAIN by James Tabor

The infamous 1967 McKinley climb of 1967 that took the lives of seven promising young mountaineers brought scandal and finger-pointing for years after. A climber himself and former Outside writer, Tabor tries to sift through the details and competing accounts (two of which were made into books of their own) to get to the still-beating heart of the matter.
Forever on the Mountain: The Truth Behind One of Mountaineering's Most Controversial and Mysterious Disasters Cover Image
$18.95
ISBN: 9780393331967
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: W. W. Norton & Company - June 1st, 2008

In 1967, seven young men, members of a twelve-man expedition led by twenty-four-year-old Joe Wilcox, were stranded on Alaska's Mount McKinley in a vicious arctic storm. All seven perished on what remains the most tragic expedition in American climbing history. Revisiting the event in the tradition of Norman Maclean's Young Men and Fire, James M.


PRACTICING by Glenn Kurtz

I’ve never played a note on a guitar, but that didn’t matter; Glenn Kurtz’s memoir PRACTICING reached me. For anyone who has ever tried to create something of beauty and fallen short of what he or she imagined, this book will be a balm.
Practicing: A Musician's Return to Music Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9780307278753
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Vintage - August 5th, 2008

In a remarkable memoir written with insight and humor, Glenn Kurtz takes us from his first lessons at the age of eight to his acceptance at the elite New England Conservatory of Music. After graduation, he attempts a solo career in Vienna but soon realizes that he has neither the ego nor the talent required to succeed and gives up the instrument, and his dream, entirely.


SEX, SLEEP, EAT, DRINK, DREAM: A Day in the Life of Your Body by Jennifer Ackerman

SEX, SLEEP, EAT, DRINK, DREAM: A Day in the Life of Your Body by science writer Jennifer Ackerman is a fun and fascinating read for hypochondriacs, amateur anatomists, and everyone else for that matter.
Sex Sleep Eat Drink Dream: A Day in the Life of Your Body Cover Image
$15.95
ISBN: 9780547085609
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Mariner Books - October 1st, 2008

Did you know that you can tell time in your sleep? That women have more nightmares than men? Or that up to half of the calories you consume can be burned off simply by fidgeting?


FLIGHT OF THE HUMMINGBIRD by Michael Nicoll Yahgulanaas

If you’re like me, you feel overwhelmed by the enormity of the environmental crisis and wonder whether small actions really make any difference. There’s healing to be found in a tiny, beautiful little book called FLIGHT OF THE HUMMINGBIRD by Haida native Michael Nicoll Yahgulanaas.
Flight of the Hummingbird: A Parable for the Environment Cover Image
Email or call for price
ISBN: 9781553653721
Availability: Special Order
Published: Greystone Books - March 1st, 2008

Hummingbirds have long been a symbol of wisdom and courage. In this charming story, a hummingbird makes a valiant effort to put out a raging fire that threatens her forest home trip after trip, her beak is filled each time withjust a drop of water.


ALEX AND ME by Irene Pepperberg

ALEX AND ME by Irene Pepperberg is a riveting account of the scientific and unmistakably intimate emotional relationship between this animal behaviorist and her late and now famous African grey parrot Alex.
Alex & Me: How a Scientist and a Parrot Discovered a Hidden World of Animal Intelligence--and Formed a Deep Bond in the Process Cover Image
$13.99
ISBN: 9780061673986
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Harper Perennial - September 1st, 2009

Alex & Me is the remarkable true story of an extraordinary relationship between psychologist Irene M. Pepperberg and Alex, an African Grey parrot who proved scientists and accepted wisdom wrong by demonstrating an astonishing ability to communicate and understand complex ideas.


FINDING BEAUTY IN A BROKEN WORLD

Nature writer and environmental activist Terry Tempest Williams has done it again. Her book FINDING BEAUTY IN A BROKEN WORLD will break hearts and mend them again. It’s a painfully honest, often challenging but always beautiful attempt to make sense of a post-911 world. Don’t miss it.  Recommended by Kelly.
Finding Beauty in a Broken World Cover Image
$17.95
ISBN: 9780375725197
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Vintage - October 6th, 2009

"Shards of glass can cut and wound or magnify a vision," Terry Tempest Williams tells us.


Pages