Preorder "Hate to Fake It to You" by Amanda Sellet

Preorder Hate to Fake It to You by Amanda Sellet!

Local author Amanda Sellet is treating us to her first-ever adult romance, a romp that Raven bookseller Manda calls “a perfect beach read.” In Hate to Fake It to You, a zany modern twist on a screwball comedy classic, a waitress masquerading as an influencer and a wildlife photographer are on a collision course with romance and chaos.

Amanda is putting a particularly special twist on her book for Raven readers with a preorder campaign! You can order your copy through the Raven Book Store to get a signed and personalized copy of Hate to Fake It to You, plus a custom sticker and recipe card inspired by the novel.

When you place your order through our website, please specify whether you would like your copy personalized and who the book should be made out to in the order comments. Preorders must be placed before midnight CST on July 15, 2024 to ensure personalization. Any orders placed after that date may only be signed.


Praise for Hate to Fake It to You

“Sellet is a comic genius. Quite possibly the funniest books I have ever read. I absolutely loved it.”
—Megan Bannen, local author of The Undertaking of Hart and Mercy

“Perfect for fans of Sophie Kinsella. Hit every single comedic note. I haven’t laughed out loud this much in a long time.”
—Alicia Thompson, bestselling author of Love in the Time of Serial Killers

“Has some of the funniest dialogue I’ve ever read, sharp writing, and a beautiful setting. I could have happily kept going for another 600 pages. I absolutely LOVE this screwball romantic comedy!”
—Sarah Hogle, author of Just Like Magic


About the Book

Everyone gets a glow-up on social media, but for Libby Lane, it’s more than filters and cherry-picked content. Her online persona, Lillibet, is the fakest of fakes: the affluent, healthier-than-thou opposite of her glam-free life on the side of Oahu most tourists never see, cooked up by Libby and her best friends under the influence of free wine and career desperation. The phony fronting is all in good fun, until a real influencer stumbles onto the Love, Lillibet Instagram feed and starts making waves.

When Hildy Johnson, the ambitious junior member of a media dynasty, travels to Hawaii to talk to “Lillibet” about parlaying her lifestyle brand into a job, Libby and her friends scramble to take the make-believe to a new level. Complicating the charade even further is Hildy’s handsome companion, a wildlife photographer whose keen eye sees more than he lets on – and Jefferson has Libby directly in his sights. Between the pretend husband, borrowed goats, a made-up holiday, and Libby’s very real attraction to Jefferson, it’s anyone’s guess which lie will blow their cover first … especially since “Lillibet” isn’t the only one with something to hide.

Hate to Fake It to You is a zany modern twist on a screwball comedy classic about figuring out what you really want – by pretending to be someone you’re not.


About the Author

Amanda Sellet is a former journalist and the author of romcoms for teens and adults including By the Book, which Booklist described in a starred review as, “impossible to read without laughing out loud.” She loves old movies, baked goods, and embarrassing her teen daughter. Hate to Fake It to You is her adult debut.


Pre-Order Now Badge
Hate to Fake It to You: A Novel By Amanda Sellet Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9781250906243
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: St. Martin's Griffin - July 16th, 2024

A waitress masquerading as an influencer and a wildlife photographer are on a collision course with romanceand chaosin Hate to Fake It to You, a zany modern twist on a screwball comedy classic about figuring out what you really wantby pretending to be someone you’re not.