Girl in a Band

STAFF REVIEW: Disclaimer: I don’t listen to much Sonic Youth, but I loved Kim Gordon's Girl in a Band. If you’re looking for tabloid fodder about Gordon’s breakup with Thurston Moore, you won’t be disappointed, but the real draw here is Gordon’s clear, frank portrayal of her long career in art and music. Like any good artist memoir, it’s full of celebrity cameos and funny anecdotes. More impressively, however, Gordon manages to really probe into all of the implications of the title and what it means to be “a girl in a band.” The result is a frank and candid feminist look at a career that started in the '70s and is still going strong today. This book is strongly recommended for fans of Patti Smith’s Just Kids and Carrie Brownstein’s Hunger Makes Me a Modern Girl, but any rock fan at all will find something to like here. Recommended by Danny.

Girl in a Band: A Memoir Cover Image
$14.99
ISBN: 9780062295903
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Dey Street Books - December 1st, 2015

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

Kim Gordon, founding member of Sonic Youth, fashion icon, and role model for a generation of women, now tells her story—a memoir of life as an artist, of music, marriage, motherhood, independence, and as one of the first women of rock and roll, written with the lyricism and haunting beauty of Patti Smith's Just Kids.