First Friday Book Group

book-group-icon.jpg

Book Group: Cover of Snow by Jenny Milchman

ravenbookstore Mon, 01/06/2014 - 11:29am

Milchman's Cover of Snow is a remarkable debut, a gripping tale of suspensein the tradition of Gillian Flynn, Chris Bohjalian, and Nancy Pickard. Wakingup one wintry morning in her old farmhouse, Nora instantly knows her world isirretrievably shattered: Her husband has committed suicide.

Cover of Snow Cover Image
Email or call for price
ISBN: 9780345534217
Availability: Hard to Find
Published: Ballantine Books - January 15th, 2013

WINNER OF THE MARY HIGGINS CLARK AWARD


Don't Ever Get Old by Daniel Friedman

ravenbookstore Tue, 09/10/2013 - 2:25pm

This is the first in a one-of-a-kind, spectacularly well-written mystery series featuring Buck Schatz, an 87-year-old retired Memphis cop. When an old adversary escapes Germany with a fortune in stolen gold, Buck decides to hunt down the fugitive and claim the loot.

Don't Ever Get Old: A Mystery (Buck Schatz Series #1) Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9781250028921
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days. Please note that sometimes a book is available on our website but not currently on the store shelves.
Published: Minotaur Books - April 30th, 2013

When Buck Schatz, senior citizen and retired Memphis cop, learns that an old adversary may have escaped Germany with a fortune in stolen gold, Buck decides to hunt down the fugitive and claim the loot.


Don't Ever Get Old

ravenbookstore Tue, 09/10/2013 - 2:24pm

This is the first in a one-of-a-kind, spectacularly well-written mystery series featuring Buck Schatz, an 87-year-old retired Memphis cop. When an old adversary escapes Germany with a fortune in stolen gold, Buck decides to hunt down the fugitive and claim the loot.

Don't Ever Get Old: A Mystery (Buck Schatz Series #1) Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9781250028921
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days. Please note that sometimes a book is available on our website but not currently on the store shelves.
Published: Minotaur Books - April 30th, 2013

When Buck Schatz, senior citizen and retired Memphis cop, learns that an old adversary may have escaped Germany with a fortune in stolen gold, Buck decides to hunt down the fugitive and claim the loot.


Claire DeWitt and the City of the Dead by Sara Gran

ravenbookstore Tue, 09/10/2013 - 2:21pm

In the first of a new mystery series featuring quirky private investigator Claire DeWitt, Claire investigates the disappearance of a top prosecutor in post-Katrina New Orleans.

Claire DeWitt and the City of the Dead (Claire DeWitt Novels #1) Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9780547747613
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days. Please note that sometimes a book is available on our website but not currently on the store shelves.
Published: Mariner Books - May 2012

“Delicious and addictive.”—Salon.com

“Reads . . . as if David Lynch directed a Raymond Chandler novel.”—CNN

 
“What would you get if that punkish dragon girl Lisbeth Salander met up with Jim Sallis’s Lew Griffin walking the back streets of New Orleans?


Book Group: The Yard by Alex Grecian

ravenbookstore Sat, 06/08/2013 - 10:12am

1889, Victorian London. Twelve detectives--The Murder Squad--are expected to solve the thousands of crimes committed here each month. Formed after the Metropolitan Police's spectacular failure in capturing Jack the Ripper, the Murder Squad suffers the brunt of public contempt. But no one can anticipate the brutal murder of one of their own.

The Yard (Scotland Yard's Murder Squad #1) Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780425261279
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days. Please note that sometimes a book is available on our website but not currently on the store shelves.
Published: G.P. Putnam's Sons - April 2nd, 2013

As Jack the Ripper’s reign of terror in London comes to an end, a new era of depravity sets the stage for the first gripping mystery featuring the detectives of Scotland Yard’s Murder Squad.

“If Charles Dickens isn’t somewhere clapping his hands for this one, Wilkie Collins surely is.”—The New York Times Book Review
 


Book Group: Poison Flower by Thomas Perry

ravenbookstore Sat, 06/08/2013 - 10:10am

The seventh novel in Perry's celebrated Jane Whitefield series, opens as Jane spirits James Shelby, a man unjustly convicted of his wife's murder, out of the heavily guarded criminal court building in downtown Los Angeles. But the price of Shelby's freedom is high.

Poison Flower Cover Image
$14.00
ISBN: 9780802155115
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days. Please note that sometimes a book is available on our website but not currently on the store shelves.
Published: Mysterious Press - February 19th, 2013

Poison Flower, the seventh novel in Thomas Perry's celebrated Jane Whitefield series, opens as Jane spirits James Shelby, a man unjustly convicted of his wife's murder, out of the heavily guarded criminal court building in downtown Los Angeles. But the price of Shelby's freedom is high. Within minutes, men posing as police officers kidnap Jane and, when she tries to escape, shoot her.


Book Group: SEASON OF DARKNESS by Maureen Jennings

ravenbookstore Thu, 05/09/2013 - 7:03pm

“The first page-turning, richly imagined novel in a new trilogy of
mysteries set in World War II England, from the bestselling author of
the internationally popular Murdoch mysteries”–Cover p. [4].

Season of Darkness (Tom Tyler Mystery Series #1) Cover Image
$17.95
ISBN: 9780771043284
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days. Please note that sometimes a book is available on our website but not currently on the store shelves.
Published: McClelland & Stewart - September 25th, 2012

In 1940, England is desperate and fearful. The threat of a German invasion is real, and many German Nationals are interned in camps across the country. One such is on Prees Heath, near the small town of Whitchurch in Shropshire, where Tom Tyler is the sole detective inspector.
 


EXPATS by Chris Pavone

ravenbookstore Thu, 05/09/2013 - 7:00pm

The international thriller that Patricia Cornwell says is “bristling
with suspense” about an American abroad who finds herself in complex web
of intrigue. Kate is a working mother who jumps at the chance to leave
behind her double-life, until her past catches up with her in a new
exotic locale.

The Expats: A Novel Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780770435721
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days. Please note that sometimes a book is available on our website but not currently on the store shelves.
Published: Broadway Books - January 22nd, 2013

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER
EDGAR AWARD WINNER  *  ANTHONY AWARD WINNER
BESTSELLING AUTHOR OF THE ACCIDENT

Can we ever escape our secrets?


White Heat by M.I. McGrath

ravenbookstore Mon, 03/11/2013 - 9:47pm

Half Inuit and half outsider, Edie Kiglatuk is the best guide around. But as a woman, she gets only grudging respect from the elders who ruled her isolated community on Ellesmere Island. When a man is shot and killed while out on an “authentic” Arctic adventure under her watch, the murder attracts the attention of police sergeant Derek Palliser.

White Heat: The First Edie Kiglatuk Mystery (An Edie Kiglatuk Mystery #1) Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780143120964
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days. Please note that sometimes a book is available on our website but not currently on the store shelves.
Published: Penguin Books - July 31st, 2012

Longlisted for the CWA Gold Dagger Award, White Heat is the first book in the gripping Edie Kiglatuk Mystery Series, with "an Arctic setting so real it’ll give you frostbite" (Dana Stabenow, author of A Cold Day for Murder)

Half Inuit and half outsider, Edie Kiglatuk is the best guide in her corner of the Arctic.


Pages