First Friday Book Group

book-group-icon.jpg

Book Group: The Truth About the Harry Quebert Affairs by Joel Dicker

The Truth about the Harry Quebert Affair Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9780143126683
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Penguin Books - May 27th, 2014

Instant New York Times Bestseller

Soon to be a 10-part TV series starring Patrick Dempsey, Ben Schnetzer, Damon Wayans Jr., and Virginia Madsen

"Unimpeachably terrific." --The New York Times Book Review


Book Group: Crime of Privilege by Walter Walker

We're meeting one week later this month to avoid the July 4th holiday.

Crime of Privilege Cover Image
Email or call for price
ISBN: 9780345548375
Availability: Backordered
Published: Ballantine Books - February 11th, 2014

NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY THE SACRAMENTO BEE

In the tradition of Scott Turow, William Landay, and Nelson DeMille, Crime of Privilege is a stunning thriller about power, corruption, and the law in America--and the dangerous ways they come together.

A murder on Cape Cod. A rape in Palm Beach.


Mr. Churchhill's Secretary by Susan MacNeal

Mr. Churchill's Secretary: A Maggie Hope Mystery (Maggie Hope Mysteries) Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780553593617
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Bantam - April 3rd, 2012

For fans of Jacqueline Winspear, Laurie R. King, and Anne Perry, Mr. Churchill's Secretary captures the drama of an era of unprecedented challenge--and the greatness that rose to meet it.


Book Group: Great Leader by Jim Harrison

Retired Detective Sunderson must get past his troubles with alcohol if he and an unlikely 16-year-old sidekick are ever going to expose an elusive cult leader called The Great Leader.

The Great Leader: A Faux Mystery Cover Image
$15.00
ISBN: 9780802145987
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Grove Press - October 30th, 2012

Rapturously received by critics and enthusiastically embraced by readers, The Great Leader is an enthralling, blackly comic take on the detective story that follows a retired detective in hilarious and bold pursuit of a sinister cult leader.


Lincoln Deception by David Stewart

In March 1900, as former Congressman John Bingham of Ohio lies dying, he begins to tell a strange tale to his physician, Dr. Jamie Fraser. Bingham famously prosecuted eight members of John Wilkes Booth's plot to kill Lincoln. But during the 1865 trial, conspirator Mary Surratt divulged a secret so explosive it could shatter the republic.

The Lincoln Deception Cover Image
Email or call for price
ISBN: 9780758290670
Availability: Hard to Find
Published: Kensington Publishing Corporation - August 27th, 2013

A deathbed confession and a long-hidden conspiracy are at the heart of a riveting historical mystery centered on the assassination of Abraham Lincoln.


Book Group: Trust Your Eyes by Linwood Barclay

Thomas Kilbride is a schizophrenic who spends his days and nights on a Web site called Whirl360. He travels the world without ever leaving his bedroom and memorizes the details of every street in every city. Then one day, he sees an image that looks like a woman being murdered in a window in New York City. Thomas's brother, Ray, knows Thomas's paranoia all too well.

Trust Your Eyes Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9780451414175
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Berkley Books - July 2nd, 2013

Thomas Kilbride is a schizophrenic who spends his days and nights on a Web site called Whirl360. He travels the world without ever leaving his bedroom and memorizes the details of every street in every city. Then one day, he sees an image that looks like a woman being murdered in a window in New York City. Thomas's brother, Ray, knows Thomas's paranoia all too well.


Book Group: Cover of Snow by Jenny Milchman

Milchman's Cover of Snow is a remarkable debut, a gripping tale of suspensein the tradition of Gillian Flynn, Chris Bohjalian, and Nancy Pickard. Wakingup one wintry morning in her old farmhouse, Nora instantly knows her world isirretrievably shattered: Her husband has committed suicide.

Cover of Snow Cover Image
Email or call for price
ISBN: 9780345534217
Availability: Hard to Find
Published: Ballantine Books - January 15th, 2013

WINNER OF THE MARY HIGGINS CLARK AWARD


Don't Ever Get Old by Daniel Friedman

This is the first in a one-of-a-kind, spectacularly well-written mystery series featuring Buck Schatz, an 87-year-old retired Memphis cop. When an old adversary escapes Germany with a fortune in stolen gold, Buck decides to hunt down the fugitive and claim the loot.

Don't Ever Get Old Cover Image
Email or call for price
ISBN: 9781250028921
Availability: Backordered
Published: Minotaur Books - April 30th, 2013

When Buck Schatz, senior citizen and retired Memphis cop, learns that an old adversary may have escaped Germany with a fortune in stolen gold, Buck decides to hunt down the fugitive and claim the loot.


Don't Ever Get Old

This is the first in a one-of-a-kind, spectacularly well-written mystery series featuring Buck Schatz, an 87-year-old retired Memphis cop. When an old adversary escapes Germany with a fortune in stolen gold, Buck decides to hunt down the fugitive and claim the loot.

Don't Ever Get Old Cover Image
Email or call for price
ISBN: 9781250028921
Availability: Backordered
Published: Minotaur Books - April 30th, 2013

When Buck Schatz, senior citizen and retired Memphis cop, learns that an old adversary may have escaped Germany with a fortune in stolen gold, Buck decides to hunt down the fugitive and claim the loot.


Claire DeWitt and the City of the Dead by Sara Gran

In the first of a new mystery series featuring quirky private investigator Claire DeWitt, Claire investigates the disappearance of a top prosecutor in post-Katrina New Orleans.

Claire DeWitt and the City of the Dead (Claire DeWitt Novels #1) Cover Image
$14.99
ISBN: 9780547747613
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Mariner Books - June 5th, 2012

"Delicious and addictive."--Salon.com

"Reads . . . as if David Lynch directed a Raymond Chandler novel."--CNN


Pages