Langston Hughes Creative Writing Awards











The winners of the 2019 Langston Hughes Award for writing are poet Jameelah Jones and fiction writer Molly Weisbrau. Co-sponsored by the Raven Book Store and the Lawrence Arts Center, the award honors the work of Hughes who spent his childhood in Lawrence, Kansas. Each year, the $500 award is given to two writers to encourage and support Douglas County, Kansas, residents who continue in Hughes’ tradition of portraying life experience through poetry and prose.

At 7:00 p.m., on Wednesday, February 1, 2017, Langston Hughes' Birthday, a celebration and reading will be held in honor of the award winners in the large gallery of the Lawrence Arts Center. In addition, this year’s event will feature presentation of the Langston Hughes Spoken Word Award sponsored by Sunflower Publishing. A reception will follow in the Arts Center lobby. 

Additionally, this year, a one-time award for youth spoken word poetry sponsored by Lawrence Magazine will also be awarded.



Jameelah Jones (she/they) is a Black femme writer and researcher living in Kansas. Her heart is in the South, where she spends most of her vacation time. She writes about Black liberation, imagination, and queer futures.


Molly Weisgrau is an undergraduate studying creative writing at the University of Kansas and plans to pursue an MFA in creative writing in the future. She often tells people that she grew up in "The City of Dreams,” Lawrence, Kansas.













Event date: 
Friday, February 1, 2019 - 7:00pm to 8:30pm
Event address: 
940 New Hampshire Street
Lawrence, KS 66044