Books You May Have Missed

Your spot for the off-the-beaten-path books that don't get written about in the New York Times but are nonetheless worthy of your time and consideration. These are the books that get found and discovered. 

Making Abolitionist Worlds: Proposals for a World on Fire Cover Image
By Abolition Collective (Editor)
$20.00
ISBN: 9781942173175
Availability: This book is in stock at our warehouse and will be at the Raven within 3-5 Business Days, once they've shipped it to us.
Published: Common Notions - October 6th, 2020

Making Abolitionist Worlds gathers key insights and interventions from today's international abolitionist movement to pose the question: what does an abolitionist world look like?


Midland: Reports from Flyover Country Cover Image
$17.99
Email or call for price
ISBN: 9781982147778
Published: Tiller Press - September 8th, 2020

Leading journalists between the coasts offer perspectives on immigration, drug addiction, climate change, and more that you won’t find in national mainstream media.


Crushing It Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781556595868
Availability: This book is in stock at our warehouse and will be at the Raven within 3-5 Business Days, once they've shipped it to us.
Published: Copper Canyon Press - October 20th, 2020

The poems in Jennifer L. Knox's darkly imaginative collection, Crushing It, unearth epiphanies in an unbounded landscape of forms, voices and subjects--from history to true crime to epidemiology--while exploring our tenuous connections and disconnections.


A Guide to Eco-Anxiety: How to Protect the Planet and Your Mental Health Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781786784292
Availability: This book is in stock at our warehouse and will be at the Raven within 3-5 Business Days, once they've shipped it to us.
Published: Watkins Publishing - September 8th, 2020

This is the first mainstream book to tackle the growing phenomenon of eco-anxiety. Written by a psychoanalyst, with a foreword from Greenpeace's Ed Gillespie, this book offers emotional tools and strategies to ease anxiety by taking positive action on a personal and community level.


Anodyne Cover Image
$15.95
ISBN: 9781947793804
Availability: This book is in stock at our warehouse and will be at the Raven within 3-5 Business Days, once they've shipped it to us.
Published: Tin House Books - August 18th, 2020

Colorado Book Awards Finalist for Poetry

Shortlisted for the Reading the West Poetry Book Award


Braiding Sweetgrass: Indigenous Wisdom, Scientific Knowledge and the Teachings of Plants Cover Image
$35.00
ISBN: 9781571311771
Availability: This book is in stock at our warehouse and will be at the Raven within 3-5 Business Days, once they've shipped it to us.
Published: Milkweed Editions - October 13th, 2020

A New York Times Bestseller
A Washington Post Bestseller
A Los Angeles Times Bestseller
Named a Best Essay Collection of the Decade by Literary Hub
A Book Riot Favorite Summer Read of 2020
A Food Tank Fall 2020 Reading Recommendation


Praying Naked (OSU JOURNAL AWARD POETRY) Cover Image
$14.95
ISBN: 9780814255735
Availability: This book is in stock at our warehouse and will be at the Raven within 3-5 Business Days, once they've shipped it to us.
This book cannot be returned. This often refers to low quality print editions. Please bear this in mind if ordering this book.
Published: Mad Creek Books - March 19th, 2020

Through language both reverent and reckless, Katie Condon’s debut collection renders the body a hymn. Praying Naked is Eden in the midst of the fall, the meat of the apple sweet as sex. In this collection, God is a hopeless and dangerous flirt, mothers die and are resurrected, and disappointing lovers run like hell for the margins.


Vintage Tattoo Flash: 100 Years of Traditional Tattoos from the Collection of Jonathan Shaw Cover Image
$60.00
ISBN: 9781576877692
Availability: This book is in stock at our warehouse and will be at the Raven within 3-5 Business Days, once they've shipped it to us.
Published: powerHouse Books - April 12th, 2016

Vintage Tattoo Flash is a one-of-a-kind visual explorationof the history and evolution of tattooing in America. Aluscious, offset-printed, hardcover tome-a beautiful andserious addition to the understanding of one of the world'soldest and most popular art forms.

Electric tattooing as we know it today was invented inNew York City at the turn of the 19th century.


Saba: New-Generation African Poets, a Chapbook Box Set Cover Image
By Kwame Dawes (Editor), Chris Abani (Editor)
$34.95
ISBN: 9781617758164
Availability: This book is in stock at our warehouse and will be at the Raven within 3-5 Business Days, once they've shipped it to us.
Published: Akashic Books - September 8th, 2020

Akashic Books' chapbooks boxset of African poetry has delighted lovers of poetry for 6 years. The latest collection features 11 new voices. Get ready to be inspired and edified with the power of poetic expression.
--Brittle Paper, One of 50 Notable African Books of 2020

Praise for the chapbook series:


John Cage: A Mycological Foray: Variations on Mushrooms Cover Image
By John Cage, Ananda Pellerin (Editor), Kingston Trinder (Text by (Art/Photo Books))
$55.00
Email or call for price
ISBN: 9781733622004
Published: Atelier Editions - July 21st, 2020

Foraging for mushrooms with John Cage: writing, art, photography and ephemera from an idiosyncratic chapter in the composer's life


Too Much Midnight Cover Image
$30.00
ISBN: 9781642591309
Availability: This book is in stock at our warehouse and will be at the Raven within 3-5 Business Days, once they've shipped it to us.
Published: Haymarket Books - April 7th, 2020

Krista Franklin draws on Pan African histories, Black Surrealism, Afrofuturism, pop culture, art history, and the historical and present-day micro-to-macro violence inflicted upon Black people and other people of color, working to forge imaginative spaces for radical possibilities and visions of liberation.


Mythopedia: An Encyclopedia of Mythical Beasts and Their Magical Tales Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781786276919
Availability: This book is in stock at our warehouse and will be at the Raven within 3-5 Business Days, once they've shipped it to us.
Published: Laurence King Publishing - September 15th, 2020

From the West African fable of Anansi the Spider, to Michabo, the magical hare who rebuilt the world and Tanuki, the sweet but troublesome raccoon-dog of Japanese folklore, Mythopedia is an encyclopedia of mythical creatures that covers legends, tales and myths from around the world.


The Call Me Ishmael Phone Book: An Interactive Guide to Life-Changing Books Cover Image
$20.00
ISBN: 9781982140588
Availability: This book is in stock at our warehouse and will be at the Raven within 3-5 Business Days, once they've shipped it to us.
Published: Avid Reader Press / Simon & Schuster - October 13th, 2020

For fans of My Ideal Bookshelf and Bibliophile, The Call Me Ishmael Phone Book is the perfect gift for book lovers everywhere: a quirky and entertaining interactive guide to reading, featuring voicemails, literary Easter eggs, checklists, and more, from the creators of the popular multimedia project.

The Call Me Ishmael Phone Book is an interactive illustr


The Look of the Book: Jackets, Covers, and Art at the Edges of Literature Cover Image
$50.00
ISBN: 9780399581021
Availability: This book is in stock at our warehouse and will be at the Raven within 3-5 Business Days, once they've shipped it to us.
Published: Ten Speed Press - October 6th, 2020

Why do some book covers instantly grab your attention, while others never get a second glance? Fusing word and image, as well as design thinking and literary criticism, this captivating investigation goes behind the scenes of the cover design process to answer this question and more.

NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY THE NEW YORK TIMES BOOK REVIEW


A Train Journey Cover Image
$24.95
ISBN: 9780500651827
Availability: This book is in stock at our warehouse and will be at the Raven within 3-5 Business Days, once they've shipped it to us.
Published: Thames & Hudson - November 10th, 2020

Charming and picturesque, A Train Journey brings iconic trains to life in three-dimensional pop-ups!