Hearts on Thin Ice: A Novel (Paperback)

Pre-Order Now Badge
Hearts on Thin Ice: A Novel By Katie Kennedy Cover Image
$18.99
Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now

Staff Reviews


Perfect for fans of Icebreaker & Set on You, Hearts on Thin Ice is a joy of a debut novel. Watching Nick and Alyssa heal themselves and fall in love with one another felt like a tender act of care. This novel felt like an afternoon in front of the hallmark channel with a hot cup of tea in all the best ways. The author handled deep painful trauma in a compassionate way that created an MMC with such depth and warmth to him that I couldn't help but weep at his happily ever after, I genuinely love these two and their warm little world! I can't recommend this one enough. Big things come in cartoon covers around here!

— Kahill

Description


A pro hockey player falls for an interior designer in this charming debut sports romance.

For fans of Icebreaker and Set On You, this flirty workplace rom-com explores mental health, belonging, and finding your way in the world.


Nick Sorensen had once been one of the fastest men in hockey—until the devastating plane crash that took the lives of his best friends, leaving him the only survivor. Now he’s physically ready to get back on the ice, but his coach is concerned Nick isn’t doing as well, mentally, as he says he is. Case in point: Nick’s apartment is completely empty, apart from a single chair and a mattress on the floor.

To prove he’s fine, really, Nick hires Alyssa Compton, an up-and-coming interior designer, to decorate his space. Alyssa’s thrilled at the chance to prove herself to her demanding boss—with job security at last, maybe she can finally put down roots and create a home for herself too. But Nick turns out to be infuriatingly stubborn and impossible to work with, and just when Alyssa decides to throw in the towel on the whole thing, Nick shows up for her in a way she never could have expected.  

The icy path ahead of these two lost souls may be slippery and cracking, but when it comes to love, sometimes all you need is someone on your team.

About the Author


Katie Kennedy is the author of The Constitution Decoded and The Presidents Decoded. Her young adult novels include Learning to Swear in America and What Goes Up. She is a history professor in Iowa and a lifelong hockey fan. Hearts on Thin Ice is her debut novel for adults.

Praise For…


Praise for Hearts on Thin Ice:
“Kennedy’s shining adult debut will delight readers and intrigue fans of Sarina Bowen’s “Brooklyn Bruisers” series and Icebreaker by Hannah Grace.”
Library Journal

Hearts on Thin Ice by Katie Kennedy is a swoony hockey romance filled with laughs and memorable pucks.” 
—Jennifer Bardsley, author of Sweet Bliss


Product Details
ISBN: 9781639107735
ISBN-10: 1639107738
Publisher: Alcove Press
Publication Date: June 18th, 2024
Pages: 320
Language: English