Banjo on the Mountain: Wade Mainer's First Hundred Years (American Made Music) (Paperback)

Banjo on the Mountain: Wade Mainer's First Hundred Years (American Made Music) Cover Image
By Dick Spottswood, Stephen Wade (Contribution by)
Email or call for price
Unfortunately this book isn't available to order


Wade Mainer (b. 1907) is believed to be the longest-lived country entertainer ever. His banjo lessons began in childhood and he played informally into his adult years, when he joined his brother, fiddler J. E. Mainer (1898-1971), in Mainer's Mountaineers. Music became their ticket out of the cotton mills in 1934. At the time, country styles were swiftly evolving from community-based performance into mass-market broadcast via radio, records, and the silver screen. Mainer's Mountaineers attracted radio sponsors and touring opportunities, allowing the brothers to become full-time musicians.

Eventually Wade Mainer formed his own band, the Sons of the Mountaineers. His success secured a permanent place for the fiddle and banjo sound in country music, sustained that sound's popularity throughout the 1930s, and created the foundation upon which Bill Monroe and his disciples would spread bluegrass music in the 1940s.

Banjo on the Mountain features Wade's own words and recollections from a lifetime in music and an exciting career that included a command performance at the White House for President Franklin D. Roosevelt and a key role in The Old Chisholm Trail, a 1944 BBC-sponsored radio play for American troops and embattled English civilians. The volume is rich in photographs and documents, thanks to Wade and Julia Mainer's careful custodianship of letters, professional photos and family snapshots, posters, songbooks, flyers, and other priceless curios.

About the Author

Dick Spottswood is a musicologist, historian, and the producer and online host of The Dick Spottswood Show, aka the Obsolete Music Hour.

Product Details
ISBN: 9781604734980
ISBN-10: 1604734981
Publisher: University Press of Mississippi
Publication Date: July 8th, 2010
Pages: 134
Language: English
Series: American Made Music (Paperback)