Beyond the Beats: Rock & Roll's Greatest Drummers Speak! (Hardcover)

Beyond the Beats: Rock & Roll's Greatest Drummers Speak! Cover Image
Email or call for price
Unfortunately this book isn't available to order


Beyond the Beats: Rock & Roll's Greatest Drummers Speak is the first definitive book of its kind: a book by drummers, for drummers, featuring exclusive, chapter-length interviews with Rock & Metal's most popular players from the past 40 years.

This Rock & Roll Royalty includes:
  • Tommy Lee of Motley Crue
  • Lars Ulrich of Metallica
  • Joey Kramer of Aerosmith
  • Jimmy Chamberlin of The Smashing Pumpkins
  • Tico Torres of Bon Jovi
  • Chad Smith of The Red Hot Chili Peppers
  • Taylor Hawkins of The Foo Fighters
  • Stephen Perkins of Jane's Addiction
  • Doug Cosmo Clifford of Creedence Clearwater Revival
  • Steve Smith of Journey
  • Kenny Aronoff of John Mellencamp/John Fogerty
  • Matt Sorum of Guns N' Roses/Velvet Revolver

A holy grail for rock and metal drummers of any generation, this book features the stories behind hundreds of their favorite beats, from popular Classic Rock Radio hits like Walk This Way by Aerosmith, Down on the Corner by Creedence Clearwater Revival, and Living on a Prayer by Bon Jovi to Hurts So Good by John Mellencamp and Don't Stop Believin' by Journey, and for the heavier metal fans, everything from Metallica's Greatest Hits, from Master of Puppets to One and Enter Sandman, Motley Crue's Kickstart My Heart or Guns N' Roses' You Could Be Mine, or Give it Away by The Red Hot Chili Peppers, Three Days by Jane's Addiction, Times Like These by The Foo Fighters or Today, Bullet with Butterfly Wings, or I am One by The Smashing Pumpkins and hundreds of other hits across every generation and sub-genre of Rock & Roll were created from behind the kit.

About the Author

Award-winning music biographer Jake Brown has written 44 books since 2001, featuring many authorized collaborations with some of rock's biggest artists, including 2013 Rock & Roll Hall of Fame inductees Heart (with Ann and Nancy Wilson), living guitar legend Joe Satriani, country music legend Merle Haggard, heavy metal pioneers Motorhead (with Lemmy Kilmister), late hip hop icon Tupac Shakur (with the estate), celebrated rock drummer Kenny Aronoff, Michael Jackson producer Teddy Riley, country rap superstar BIG SMO, late funk pioneer Rick James, superstar country music anthology Nashville Songwriter, all-star rock drummers anthology Beyond the Beats, all-star rap producers Hip Hop Hits anthology, and the all-star rock producers anthology Behind the Boards, among many others. Brown is a regular contributor to Tape Op (including the 2016 AES Cover Story with Smashing Pumpkins' mastermind Billy Corgan) has also appeared as the featured biographer of record on Fuse TV's Live Through This series and Bloomberg TV's Game Changers series, and received national press in Rolling Stone Magazine, CBS News, USA Today,, The Hollywood Reporter, Parade Magazine, and Billboard. In 2012, Brown won the Association for Recorded Sound Collections Award in the Excellence in Historical Recorded Sound Research category.

Product Details
ISBN: 9780983471677
ISBN-10: 0983471673
Publisher: Music Square Media
Publication Date: March 13th, 2018
Pages: 352
Language: English