The Moon is Going to Addy's House (Hardcover)

The Moon is Going to Addy's House Cover Image
$17.99
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days. Please note that sometimes a book is available on our website but not currently on the store shelves.

Description


This gentle, poetic bedtime story about a little girl and the friendly moon is perfect for fans of Ezra Jack Keats and Kevin Henkes

After a play date in the city, Addy heads home to the country with her family. And through the long drive, the moon seems to be following them closely—Addy’s faithful guardian and friend.

The comforting sense that the moon is your own personal companion is universal to childhood, and Ida Pearle has depicted it beautifully through her lyrical text and soft, sleepy cut-paper collage illustrations. This is a book that children will ask to hear every night at bedtime.

About the Author


Ida Pearle is a musician and artist. She graduated from La Guardia High School of the Arts and received a fine arts degree from The Cooper Union. She lives with her husband and daughter in Brooklyn, New York.

Praise For…


Praise for The Moon is Going to Addy's House

* "Exquisite, electrifying, soothing, and soporific, brilliant in color and execution, this book beams."—Kirkus Reviews, starred review

* "Pearle's portrait of Addy as she holds her pajamas out in front of her has the grace of a Renoir . . . Pearle captures silky motion, conjures up a sense of warmth without reserve, and celebrates children's intuitive grasp of the natural world."—Publishers Weekly, starred review

* "Dazzling . . . A lovely celebration of a magical celestial companion."—School Library Journal, starred review

"Swirls and stripes give these illustrations movement andperspective, while intricate, precise cuts mimic back-lit foliage, windblown hair, birds, and architecture. Pearle’s colors are vivid, almost psychedelic, in contrast to realistic human figures with contours straight out of Dick and Jane. A unique, fantastic combination of artistic materials, retro style, and endearing story."—Booklist

"To my mind, this book is pretty much without parallel. Just amazing."—A Fuse #8 Production

The Moon is Going to Addy’s House is visual storytelling at its very best. The emotional journey of the children is beautifully expressed through Ida Pearle’s stunning use of collage, color, texture, and movement.”—Martin Scorsese

“Ida Pearle is a magician who understands children. She makes her cut-paper collages dance and play and come to life. Her work is pure joy. The moon is going to Addy's house, and you should, too!”—Brian Selznick, Caldecott Medal Winner

"Ida Pearle has created a modern classic, a stunningly beautiful book, with a storyline that moves like dance right down to the smallest warm detail."—Richard McGuire
Product Details
ISBN: 9780803740549
ISBN-10: 0803740549
Publisher: Dial Books
Publication Date: July 7th, 2015
Pages: 32
Language: English