Scot Free (Last Ditch Mystery #1) (Paperback)

Scot Free (Last Ditch Mystery #1) Cover Image
$15.99
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Description


" McPherson's] character-driven romp is sparked by the larger-than-life, quirky residents of the Last Ditch Motel, putting this laugh-out-loud whodunit on a par with the early Janet Evanovich."--Library Journal (starred review)

"McPherson, a master of creepy psychological mysteries, shows an utterly different side of herself in this zany series kickoff."--Kirkus Reviews

"McPherson gives the fish-out-of-water theme a hilarious and original spin with Lexy Campbell, a Scottish therapist who falls for and marries a sexy California dentist who turns out to be more horndog than hero. Throw in a sweet old lady accused of blowing up her pyrotechnic husband and a hilariously bumbling supporting cast, and you have the perfect comic caper. Lexy is my new favorite unwitting detective and her cultural observations and mistakes are laugh-out-loud funny. Scot Free is a little sexy and a lot funny, with a heart and a bang."--Jess Lourey, Anthony and Lefty-nominated author

"The only times I stopped turning the pages were when I was laughing so hard it took both hands just to hold the book. McPherson is an ace plotter, a vivid, original stylist, and great company. A great beginning to a new series."--Timothy Hallinan, author of the Junior Bender series

"Everyone who knows me knows that I don't throw the word 'hoot' around lightly. So if I were to say that Catriona McPherson's new novel was a hoot, believe me, I would mean it. Filled with an entertaining cast of eccentric characters, Scot Free is a funny and original mystery. Quite frankly, it's a hoot. There, I said it."--Johnny Shaw, author of Big Maria and Imperial Valley

"Scot Free is a proper cuppa Scottish mystery served under harsh California sunshine--and everyone's a little crazy from the heat. Lexy and her Last Ditch friends are charming, weird, and laugh-out-loud funny. A real treat."--Lori Rader-Day, Mary Higgins Clark Award-winning author of Little Pretty Things

"Lexy's snide observations about the California lifestyle can't cover up her affection for her friends, who are as warm-hearted as they are weird. Readers will look forward to Lexy's further adventures."--Publishers Weekly

"McPherson, who has earned acclaim for her dark thrillers and Dandy Gilver period cozies, blends jaunty pacing, a comically rendered Southern California setting, and quirky characters in this series starter. A sure bet for fans of Janet Evanovich and Sarah Strohmeyer."--Booklist

FOR SCOTTISH-BORN MARRIAGE COUNSELOR LEXY CAMPBELL, THE AMERICAN DREAM BECOMES A CALIFORNIA NIGHTMARE

Lexy Campbell fell in love and left her native Scotland for a golden life in California--hitched to a hunk, building her marriage counseling practice, living the dream. Six months later she's divorced, broke, and headed home. There's just one last thing. Lexy's only client--sweet little old Mrs. Bombarro--is in jail for murdering her husband with a fireworks rocket.

Lexy knows the cops have got it wrong; all she needs is a few days to prove it and somewhere cheap to sleep at night. But checking into the Last Ditch Motel brings an unexpected slice of life and a whole world of trouble.

Praise for Catriona McPherson's Critically Acclaimed Stand-Alone Novels:

House. Tree. Person.

"The clever way McPherson reveals each hint of the truth makes this a one-sitting read."--Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

"House. Tree. Person. is McPherson's best yet."--Karin Slaughter, New York Times and international bestselling author

Quiet Neighbors:

A 2016 Agatha Award Finalist for Best Contemporary Novel

A 2017 Mary Higgins Clark Award Finalist

A 2017 IPPY Award Bronze Medalist for Mystery/Cozy/Noir

"Quiet Neighbors drew me in from the very first page, and I stayed up late reading it because I couldn't wait to find out what happened next. That's the definition of a good book."--Charlaine Harris, #1 New York Times bestselling author

"McPherson writes mystery stories that are both cozy and creepy, which accounts for the quirky charm of Quiet Neighbors."--The New York Times

"Outstanding."--Publishers Weekly (starred review)

"Layer upon layer of deception."--Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

"Quiet Neighbors is a real find . . . This is one of those ideal stories that you cannot put down and actually feel sad when it's over."--Suspense Magazine

"Quiet Neighbors is a cleverly conceived, skillfully executed, decidedly nontraditional small-town mystery that is bursting at the seams with warmth, wit, moxie, and menace."--Mystery Scene

"Despite the dark underpinnings, this is also a story of love, family, trust, and forgiveness."--Booklist

The Child Garden:

A 2015 Agatha Award Finalist for Best Novel

A 2016 Mary Higgins Clark Award Finalist

"A warm-hearted character study . . . McPherson writes with the firm but delicate touch of a spider testing the strength of its web. Her account . . . is a tale that shivers with suspense."--The New York Times

"Catriona McPherson hooks you with her eccentric amateur sleuth, reinvigorating the exhausted conventions of the cozy-style mystery."--NPR

"A terrific stand-alone that is complex, haunting, and magical."--Library Journal (starred review)

"A stunning combination."--Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

"McPherson's ingenious plot turns will keep even the most astute of crime fiction readers guessing until the last page."--The Strand

"This is a terrific spin.

About the Author


Catriona McPherson (Davis, California) was born in Edinburgh, Scotland, and is the author of multi-award-winning standalones for Midnight Ink, including the Edgar-shortlisted The Day She Died and the Mary Higgins Clark finalist Quiet Neighbors. She also writes the Agatha-winning Dandy Gilver historical mystery series (Minotaur/Thomas Dunne Books). McPherson is the past president of Sisters in Crime and a member of Mystery Writers of America.
Product Details
ISBN: 9780738753867
ISBN-10: 0738753866
Publisher: Midnight Ink
Publication Date: April 8th, 2018
Pages: 288
Language: English
Series: Last Ditch Mystery