Quartet (Paperback)

Quartet By Jean Rhys Cover Image
Email or call for price
Unfortunately this book isn't available to order


The story of a woman on the edge caught in the stranglehold between her lover and his wife. When her husband is released from prison, the situation explodes.

About the Author

Jean Rhys (1890–1979), one of the foremost writers of the twentieth century, is the author of Wide Sargasso Sea—her last and best-known novel—as well as After Leaving Mr. Mackenzie, Voyage in the Dark, and Good Morning, Midnight, all available in Norton paperback.

Praise For…

If difficulty of subject is to be considered in judging the merit of a novel, Miss Rhys must be accredited with high achievement. Not only does she deal with the most complex personalities, exploring the most intimate recesses of their psychology, but she does so with the directness and certitude of the fine artist. The style, especially of the dialogue, belongs to the new tradition in prose, which shuns elaboration for sharpness and intensity of effect.
— New York Times

Product Details
ISBN: 9780393315462
ISBN-10: 0393315460
Publisher: W. W. Norton & Company
Publication Date: March 17th, 1997
Pages: 192
Language: English
Series: Norton Paperback Fiction