Twentieth Century Drifter: The Life of Marty Robbins (Music in American Life) (Hardcover)

Twentieth Century Drifter: The Life of Marty Robbins (Music in American Life) Cover Image
Email or call for price
Unfortunately this book isn't available to order

Description


Twentieth Century Drifter: The Life of Marty Robbins is the first biography of this legendary country music artist and NASCAR driver who scored sixteen number-one hits and two Grammy awards. Yet even with fame and fortune, Marty Robbins always yearned for more.
 
Drawing from personal interviews and in-depth research, biographer Diane Diekman explains how Robbins saw himself as a drifter, a man always searching for self-fulfillment and inner peace. Born Martin David Robinson to a hardworking mother and an abusive alcoholic father, he never fully escaped the insecurities burned into him by a poverty-stricken nomadic childhood in the Arizona desert. In 1947 he got his first gig as a singer and guitar player. Too nervous to talk, the shy young man walked onstage singing. Soon he changed his name to Marty Robbins, cultivated his magnetic stage presence, and established himself as an entertainer, songwriter, and successful NASCAR driver.
 
For fans of Robbins, NASCAR, and classic country music, Twentieth Century Drifter: The Life of Marty Robbins is a revealing portrait of this well-loved, restless entertainer, a private man who kept those who loved him at a distance.

About the Author


Diane Diekman, a retired U.S. Navy captain, is the author of Live Fast, Love Hard: The Faron Young Story;Navy Greenshirt: A Leader Made, Not Born; and A Farm in the Hidewood: My South Dakota Home.
 

Praise For…


"A detailed account of the life and career of country music superstar Marty Robbins. Anyone interested in Robbins or the country music world of his long era will enjoy Diane Diekman's refreshing, compelling narrative."

--Ronnie Pugh, author of Ernest Tubb: The Texas Troubadour

"A well-told and informative biography of a great but over looked country star."--Country Music People

"A top country & western artist who crossed over to the pop charts, Marty Robbins deserves this well-written, well-researched account of his life and music. Diekman's expert history is a welcome addition to the oeuvre of classic country music biography."

--Holly George-Warren, author of Public Cowboy No. 1: The Life and Times of Gene Autry



"Diekman propels the narrative with impressive detail and energy, leaving the reader with an impression that can only echo the admiration and respect of those who knew him."--The Austin Chronicle

"In her excellent new, 2012 biography, Diane Diekman explores the personal, more nuanced side of this unique and gifted talent and explains how he was painfully shy by nature."--American Cowboy



Product Details
ISBN: 9780252036323
ISBN-10: 0252036328
Publisher: University of Illinois Press
Publication Date: February 10th, 2012
Pages: 320
Language: English
Series: Music in American Life