You are here

Staff Reviews

A Reunion of Ghosts

A Reunion of Ghosts by Judith Claire Mitchell is one of the best novels I've read in years. A wry black comedy, it begins in 1999 and is the story of the forty-ish Alter sisters: Lady, Vee and Delph, who share an apartment on New York's Upper East Side. But it's also the story of four generations of the Alter family, beginning with their great-grandfather, a brilliant German chemist who invented chlorine gas, among other terrible things. Tragedies have occurred in each generation, leaving the Alter sisters to conclude that there is only one solution that will break the curse.

Staff Pick Logo
A Reunion of Ghosts Cover Image
ISBN: 9780062355898
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Harper Perennial - January 26th, 2016


"The Alter sisters are mordant, wry, and crystalline in wit and vision; it is a tremendous pleasure to rocket through generations of their family histories with them." --Lauren Groff, New York Timesbestselling author of Fates and Furies, The Monsters of Templeton, and Arcadia

Notorious RBG: The Life and Times of Ruth Bader Ginsberg

As if we needed another reason to celebrate Ruth Bader Ginsberg! This book is about her insatiable desire to change the world and her commitment to equality. It is a great book for the ardent feminist, as well as a book for parents to read to their children. There are lots of photographs, timelines, and fun facts. This book is especially important with the recent addition  to the supreme court. Happy learning!  Recommended by Jenna.

Staff Pick Logo
Notorious RBG: The Life and Times of Ruth Bader Ginsburg Cover Image
ISBN: 9780062415837
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Dey Street Books - October 27th, 2015


"The authors make this unassuming, most studious woman come pulsing to life. . . . Notorious RBG may be a playful project, but it asks to be read seriously. . . . That I responded so personally to it is a testimony to its] storytelling and panache."-- Jennifer Senior, New York Times

Prince Charles: The Passions and Paradoxes of an Improbable Life

The new biography, Prince Charles: The Passions and Paradoxes of an Improbable Life by Sally Bedell Smith, is worth the time despite its girth. A teenager when Charles married Diana, I have long disliked and blamed him for all that followed. Smith's exhaustive exploration of his life has helped me move past that and even to appreciate the man for who he is: a reluctant royal with loves and ambitions that do not necessarily suit his role as the Queen and others might interpret it.

Staff Pick Logo
Prince Charles: The Passions and Paradoxes of an Improbable Life Cover Image
ISBN: 9781400067909
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Random House - April 4th, 2017

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER - The life and loves of Prince Charles are illuminated in a major new biography from the New York Times bestselling author of Elizabeth the Queen--perfect for fans of The Crown.

Consuming the Congo: War and Conflict Minerals in the World's Deadliest Place

How many times a day do you use your cellphone? Computer? Have a diamond ring? The western world depends on the minerals being harvested from the Congo, and the labor that which provides it. (Can also be spelled "Kongo") 5,000,000, yes, 5 million, you read that right, have died in the conflict in the Kingdom of Congo since WWII. This book explores first-hand experience, interviews, images, and data to educate readers on what is happening in the world's deadliest place.

Staff Pick Logo
Consuming the Congo: War and Conflict Minerals in the World's Deadliest Place Cover Image
ISBN: 9781613736654
Availability: Backordered
Published: Chicago Review Press - October 1st, 2016

Every time you use a cell phone or log on to a computer, you could be contributing to the death toll in the bloodiest, most violent region in the world: the eastern Congo.

Dig If You Will the Picture: Funk, Sex, God, and Genius in the Music of Prince

Ben Greenman’s Dig if You Will the Picture: Funk, Sex, God, and Genius in the Music of Prince doesn’t set out to be a biography (entirely) or a work of criticism (entirely) or a memoir (entirely), instead landing at a mostly-sweet spot in between. The result is a fun read, full of memorable insights and stories. Greenman splits his analysis into four sections, about Prince’s music, meaning, madness, and memory. It’s a nice structure for a book that slides around chronologically but never loses its grip.

Staff Pick Logo
Dig If You Will the Picture: Funk, Sex, God and Genius in the Music of Prince Cover Image
ISBN: 9781250128379
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Henry Holt & Company - April 11th, 2017

Named one of the best music books of 2017 by The Wall Street Journal

A unique and kaleidoscopic look into the life, legacy, and electricity of the pop legend Prince and his wideranging impact on our culture

Black Rabbit Hall

Black Rabbit Hall by Eve Chase is a spellbinding novel that reviewers say is reminiscent of Daphne du Maurier. Black Rabbit Hall is a country estate on England's Cornish coast. Something happens in 1968 that unravels the perfect family who lives there. The story shifts to the present as a young woman decides she wants to hold her wedding at the Hall. Going back and forth in time, we learn how the two families are connected. Movingly written, this gothic story of family secrets, love and loss will captivate you! -- Recommended by Rochelle

Staff Pick Logo
Black Rabbit Hall Cover Image
ISBN: 9780399174124
Availability: Special Order
Published: G.P. Putnam's Sons - February 9th, 2016

"For fans of Kate Morton and Daphne du Maurier, Black Rabbit Hall is an obvious must-read."--Bookpage

A secret history. A long-ago summer. A house with an untold story.

White Tears

White Tears by Hari Kunzru is amazing. The story starts when a popular kid, rich heir to a private-prison empire, befriends a seemingly bland audio-nerd sidekick. Together they DJ college parties and become big men on campus. After graduation they move to Brooklyn to open a recording studio specializing in making new records sound old. Then, they pull a harmless-seeming prank: they post a counterfeit blues song to the internet, calling it a newly-discovered rare recording. Immediately afterwards, all hell breaks loose (almost literally).

Staff Pick Logo
White Tears Cover Image
ISBN: 9780451493699
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Knopf Publishing Group - March 14th, 2017

White Tears is a ghost story, a terrifying murder mystery, a timely meditation on race, and a love letter to all the forgotten geniuses of American music and Delta Mississippi Blues.

A Curious Beginning

A Curious Beginning by Deanna Raybourn is the first book in a new series featuring the intrepid Veronica Speedwell, an adventurous lepidopterist and world traveler.  The year is 1887 and in London Veronica fends off an abductor with the help of a mysterious German baron.  His friend Stoker, an ill-tempered natural historian, is asked to look after her (although Veronica does very well all by herself!).  Soon Veronica and Stoker are on the run as they look for the baron’s murderer.  Witty, smart dialogue, a clever sense of humor and a fast pace make this a very e

Staff Pick Logo
A Curious Beginning (Veronica Speedwell Mystery #1) Cover Image
ISBN: 9780451476029
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Berkley Books - July 12th, 2016

In her thrilling new series, Deanna Raybourn, the New York Times bestselling author of the Lady Julia Grey mysteries, returns once more to Victorian England...and introduces intrepid adventuress Veronica Speedwell.

Greenglass House

Greenglass House by Kate Milford won the prestigious Edgar Award for best juvenile mystery. It was a New York Times bestseller, a National Book Award finalist and it received several starred reviews. Milo Pine and his parents own and live in Greenglass House, a huge old rambling guest house with many rooms to rent. It had been a smuggler’s inn in the past. It’s almost Christmas, a blizzard is howling and several mysterious guests have arrived, each one with a strange story and a secret.

Staff Pick Logo
Greenglass House Cover Image
By Kate Milford, Jaime Zollars (Illustrator)
ISBN: 9780544540286
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Houghton Mifflin - November 1st, 2016

New York Times Bestseller
National Book Award Nominee
Winner of the Edgar Award for Best Juvenile Mystery


How long has it been since you've read Jeffrey Eugenides’s Middlesex? If you haven't cracked it since it was a huge hit in 2003 (or if you've never read it at all), now's the time. This gorgeous, generous, and funny novel has two hearts: a story about immigrants, and a story about the perils and difficulties of a complex gender identity in a straight male/female world. It's timely in both respects and has aged very well. The novel's scope is so delightfully huge—to me, some of the best novels are about basically everything—that a short summary is futile.

Staff Pick Logo
Middlesex (Oprah's Book Club) Cover Image
ISBN: 9780312427733
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Picador USA - June 5th, 2007

"I was born twice: first, as a baby girl, on a remarkably smogless Detroit day of January 1960; and then again, as a teenage boy, in an emergency room near Petoskey, Michigan, in August of l974. . . My birth certificate lists my name as Calliope Helen Stephanides. My most recent driver's license...records my first name simply as Cal."


Subscribe to RSS - Staff Reviews