You are here

Staff Reviews

Needle in the Bone

I'm late to arrive at Lawrence-based writer Caryn Miriam-Golberg's book Needle in the Bone: How a Holocaust Survivor and a Polish Resistance Fighter Beat the Odds and Found Each Other. The book tells the difficult and yet ultimately triumphant tale of late Lawrence residents Lou Frydman and Jarek Piekalkiewicz who both survived Nazi death camps and marches during the Holocaust. Frydman, along with his brother Abe were taken by the German army during the Warsaw Ghetto uprising. By the end of the war, everyone in his extended family had been killed except the two brothers.

Staff Pick Logo
Needle in the Bone: How a Holocaust Survivor and a Polish Resistance Fighter Beat the Odds and Found Each Other Cover Image
$29.95
ISBN: 9781612345680
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Potomac Books - November 1st, 2012

Needle in the Bone tells the astonishing stories of Holocaust survivor Lou Frydman and former Polish resistance fighter Jarek Piekalkiewicz. As mere teenagers during World War II, the two men defied daunting odds, lost everything and nearly everyone in the war, and yet summoned the courage to start new lives in the United States.


The Language of Secrets

In her first book, The Unquiet Dead, Ausma Zehant Khan introduced us to Inspector Esa Khattak and his partner Rachel Getty of the RCMP in Ontario. Their unit—Community Policing Section—is charged with bridging gaps between the Muslim community and the police. The Language of Secrets takes up where the first novel left off: Khattak finds himself, as a devout Muslim, caught between his job and his faith community and undergoing an internal review based on his handling of a previous case.

Staff Pick Logo
The Language of Secrets: A Mystery Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9781250055170
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Minotaur Books - January 10th, 2017

The Unquiet Dead author Ausma Zehanat Khan once again dazzles in The Language of Secrets, a brilliant mystery woven into a profound and intimate story of humanity.


White Trash: The 400-Year Untold History of Class in America

I just keep coming back to this book! I have read it twice! This is the history of white America that has been deliberately left out. It's embarrassing, crass, and super creepy. White Trash explores the history of "waste people," presidential perspectives, and how race has a part in every single piece of American history, no matter how hard some try to erase it. Nancy Isenberg has created a dialog that can change everything--all you have to do is read it. Happy learning! Recommended by Jenna.

Staff Pick Logo
White Trash: The 400-Year Untold History of Class in America Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780143129677
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Penguin Books - April 4th, 2017


The New York Times Bestseller, with a new preface from the author

"This estimable book rides into the summer doldrums like rural electrification. . . . It deals in the truths that matter."--Dwight Garner, The New York Times


Jane Steele

Jane Steele by Lyndsay Faye is a wickedly thrilling read!  In the first chapter when Jane, the narrator says, “Reader, I murdered him” I was hooked.  Set in 19th century England, Jane lives at Highgate House with her mother and unfeeling aunt.  Her mother dies and Jane is sent to a dreadful boarding school for girls that’s run by a sadistic and cruel headmaster.  Jane escapes and flees to London, living by her wits for a few years.  (She has something in common with other literary characters who do bad things to bad people.).  She spies an a

Staff Pick Logo
Jane Steele Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780425283202
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: G.P. Putnam's Sons - March 14th, 2017

Nominated for the 2017 Edgar Award for Best Novel


Priestdaddy

Patricia Lockwood's memoir Priestdaddy is pretty unforgettable, primarily because nobody can craft a joke like Lockwood. She lends her manic comic energy to the story of moving home from Savannah to Kansas City after her husband's expensive eye surgery for a rare vision condition. Thing is, home is a bit stranger for Lockwood than for the rest of us: her father is a Catholic priest who's basically beyond description, but here goes: he walks around in boxers, playhs electric guitar loudly, is an ordained priest with five children, and watches Glenn Beck, well, religiously.

Staff Pick Logo
Priestdaddy: A Memoir Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9781594633737
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Riverhead Books - May 2nd, 2017

NEW YORK TIMES BOOK REVIEW 10 BEST BOOKS OF 2017

SELECTED AS A BEST BOOK OF THE YEAR:
The Washington Post * Elle * NPR * New York Magazine * Boston Globe * Nylon * Slate * The Cut * The New Yorker * Boston Globe * Chicago Tribune


A Reunion of Ghosts

A Reunion of Ghosts by Judith Claire Mitchell is one of the best novels I've read in years. A wry black comedy, it begins in 1999 and is the story of the forty-ish Alter sisters: Lady, Vee and Delph, who share an apartment on New York's Upper East Side. But it's also the story of four generations of the Alter family, beginning with their great-grandfather, a brilliant German chemist who invented chlorine gas, among other terrible things. Tragedies have occurred in each generation, leaving the Alter sisters to conclude that there is only one solution that will break the curse.

Staff Pick Logo
A Reunion of Ghosts Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9780062355898
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Harper Perennial - January 26th, 2016

A NATIONAL JEWISH BOOK AWARD FINALIST

"The Alter sisters are mordant, wry, and crystalline in wit and vision; it is a tremendous pleasure to rocket through generations of their family histories with them." --Lauren Groff, New York Timesbestselling author of Fates and Furies, The Monsters of Templeton, and Arcadia


Notorious RBG: The Life and Times of Ruth Bader Ginsberg

As if we needed another reason to celebrate Ruth Bader Ginsberg! This book is about her insatiable desire to change the world and her commitment to equality. It is a great book for the ardent feminist, as well as a book for parents to read to their children. There are lots of photographs, timelines, and fun facts. This book is especially important with the recent addition  to the supreme court. Happy learning!  Recommended by Jenna.

Staff Pick Logo
Notorious RBG: The Life and Times of Ruth Bader Ginsburg Cover Image
$24.99
ISBN: 9780062415837
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Dey Street Books - October 27th, 2015

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

"The authors make this unassuming, most studious woman come pulsing to life. . . . Notorious RBG may be a playful project, but it asks to be read seriously. . . . That I responded so personally to it is a testimony to its] storytelling and panache."-- Jennifer Senior, New York Times


Prince Charles: The Passions and Paradoxes of an Improbable Life

The new biography, Prince Charles: The Passions and Paradoxes of an Improbable Life by Sally Bedell Smith, is worth the time despite its girth. A teenager when Charles married Diana, I have long disliked and blamed him for all that followed. Smith's exhaustive exploration of his life has helped me move past that and even to appreciate the man for who he is: a reluctant royal with loves and ambitions that do not necessarily suit his role as the Queen and others might interpret it.

Staff Pick Logo
Prince Charles: The Passions and Paradoxes of an Improbable Life Cover Image
$32.00
ISBN: 9781400067909
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Random House - April 4th, 2017

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER - The life and loves of Prince Charles are illuminated in a major new biography from the New York Times bestselling author of Elizabeth the Queen--perfect for fans of The Crown.


Consuming the Congo: War and Conflict Minerals in the World's Deadliest Place

How many times a day do you use your cellphone? Computer? Have a diamond ring? The western world depends on the minerals being harvested from the Congo, and the labor that which provides it. (Can also be spelled "Kongo") 5,000,000, yes, 5 million, you read that right, have died in the conflict in the Kingdom of Congo since WWII. This book explores first-hand experience, interviews, images, and data to educate readers on what is happening in the world's deadliest place.

Staff Pick Logo
Consuming the Congo: War and Conflict Minerals in the World's Deadliest Place Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781613736654
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Chicago Review Press - October 1st, 2016

Every time you use a cell phone or log on to a computer, you could be contributing to the death toll in the bloodiest, most violent region in the world: the eastern Congo.


Dig If You Will the Picture: Funk, Sex, God, and Genius in the Music of Prince

Ben Greenman’s Dig if You Will the Picture: Funk, Sex, God, and Genius in the Music of Prince doesn’t set out to be a biography (entirely) or a work of criticism (entirely) or a memoir (entirely), instead landing at a mostly-sweet spot in between. The result is a fun read, full of memorable insights and stories. Greenman splits his analysis into four sections, about Prince’s music, meaning, madness, and memory. It’s a nice structure for a book that slides around chronologically but never loses its grip.

Staff Pick Logo
Dig If You Will the Picture: Funk, Sex, God and Genius in the Music of Prince Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9781250128379
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Henry Holt & Company - April 11th, 2017

Named one of the best music books of 2017 by The Wall Street Journal

A unique and kaleidoscopic look into the life, legacy, and electricity of the pop legend Prince and his wideranging impact on our culture


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Staff Reviews