You are here

Rochelle’s Reviews

Jane Steele

Jane Steele by Lyndsay Faye is a wickedly thrilling read!  In the first chapter when Jane, the narrator says, “Reader, I murdered him” I was hooked.  Set in 19th century England, Jane lives at Highgate House with her mother and unfeeling aunt.  Her mother dies and Jane is sent to a dreadful boarding school for girls that’s run by a sadistic and cruel headmaster.  Jane escapes and flees to London, living by her wits for a few years.  (She has something in common with other literary characters who do bad things to bad people.).  She spies an a

Staff Pick Logo
Jane Steele Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780425283202
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: G.P. Putnam's Sons - March 14th, 2017

Nominated for the 2017 Edgar Award for Best Novel


A Reunion of Ghosts

A Reunion of Ghosts by Judith Claire Mitchell is one of the best novels I've read in years. A wry black comedy, it begins in 1999 and is the story of the forty-ish Alter sisters: Lady, Vee and Delph, who share an apartment on New York's Upper East Side. But it's also the story of four generations of the Alter family, beginning with their great-grandfather, a brilliant German chemist who invented chlorine gas, among other terrible things. Tragedies have occurred in each generation, leaving the Alter sisters to conclude that there is only one solution that will break the curse.

Staff Pick Logo
A Reunion of Ghosts Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9780062355898
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Harper Perennial - January 26th, 2016

A NATIONAL JEWISH BOOK AWARD FINALIST

"The Alter sisters are mordant, wry, and crystalline in wit and vision; it is a tremendous pleasure to rocket through generations of their family histories with them." --Lauren Groff, New York Timesbestselling author of Fates and Furies, The Monsters of Templeton, and Arcadia


Black Rabbit Hall

Black Rabbit Hall by Eve Chase is a spellbinding novel that reviewers say is reminiscent of Daphne du Maurier. Black Rabbit Hall is a country estate on England's Cornish coast. Something happens in 1968 that unravels the perfect family who lives there. The story shifts to the present as a young woman decides she wants to hold her wedding at the Hall. Going back and forth in time, we learn how the two families are connected. Movingly written, this gothic story of family secrets, love and loss will captivate you! -- Recommended by Rochelle

Staff Pick Logo
Black Rabbit Hall Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780399174124
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: G.P. Putnam's Sons - February 9th, 2016

"For fans of Kate Morton and Daphne du Maurier, Black Rabbit Hall is an obvious must-read."--Bookpage

A secret history. A long-ago summer. A house with an untold story.


A Curious Beginning

A Curious Beginning by Deanna Raybourn is the first book in a new series featuring the intrepid Veronica Speedwell, an adventurous lepidopterist and world traveler.  The year is 1887 and in London Veronica fends off an abductor with the help of a mysterious German baron.  His friend Stoker, an ill-tempered natural historian, is asked to look after her (although Veronica does very well all by herself!).  Soon Veronica and Stoker are on the run as they look for the baron’s murderer.  Witty, smart dialogue, a clever sense of humor and a fast pace make this a very e

Staff Pick Logo
A Curious Beginning Cover Image
$15.00
ISBN: 9780451476029
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Berkley Books - July 12th, 2016

In her thrilling new series, Deanna Raybourn, the New York Times bestselling author of the Lady Julia Grey mysteries, returns once more to Victorian England...and introduces intrepid adventuress Veronica Speedwell.


Greenglass House

Greenglass House by Kate Milford won the prestigious Edgar Award for best juvenile mystery. It was a New York Times bestseller, a National Book Award finalist and it received several starred reviews. Milo Pine and his parents own and live in Greenglass House, a huge old rambling guest house with many rooms to rent. It had been a smuggler’s inn in the past. It’s almost Christmas, a blizzard is howling and several mysterious guests have arrived, each one with a strange story and a secret.

Staff Pick Logo
Greenglass House Cover Image
By Kate Milford, Jaime Zollars (Illustrator)
$7.99
ISBN: 9780544540286
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Houghton Mifflin - November 1st, 2016

New York Times Bestseller
National Book Award Nominee
Winner of the Edgar Award for Best Juvenile Mystery



A Reunion of Ghosts

A Reunion of Ghosts by Judith Claire Mitchell is one of the best novels that I’ve read in years. A wry black comedy, it begins in 1999 and is the story of the 40-ish Alter sisters: Lady, Vee and Delph, who share an apartment on New York’s upper East Side. But it’s also the story of four generations of the Alter family, beginning with their great-grandfather, a brilliant German chemist who invented chlorine gas, among other terrible things. Tragedies have occurred in each generation, leaving the Alter sisters to conclude that there is only one solution that will break the curse.

Staff Pick Logo
A Reunion of Ghosts Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9780062355898
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Harper Perennial - January 26th, 2016

A NATIONAL JEWISH BOOK AWARD FINALIST

"The Alter sisters are mordant, wry, and crystalline in wit and vision; it is a tremendous pleasure to rocket through generations of their family histories with them." --Lauren Groff, New York Timesbestselling author of Fates and Furies, The Monsters of Templeton, and Arcadia


The Summer Before the War

Helen Simonson's heartfelt novel captures life in the small English coastal town of Rye. It is the summer of 1914, short months before every's lives are changed as WWI begins. Every character is beautifully drawn and the beauty of the countryside is vividly described. This book follows her wonderful novel Major Pettigrew's Last Stand, and I loved both of them. Recommended by Rochelle

Staff Pick Logo
The Summer Before the War Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780812993103
Availability: Special Order
Published: Random House - March 22nd, 2016

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER - "A novel to cure your Downton Abbey withdrawal . . . a delightful story about nontraditional romantic relationships, class snobbery and the everybody-knows-everybody complications of living in a small community."--The Washington Post


Night Film by Marisha Pessl

Night Film by Marisha Pessl is a stylish literary thriller that’s impossible to put down. Investigative journalist Scott McGrath (also a film buff) questions the suicide-ruled death of the daughter of a reclusive film director. You’ll enjoy winding your way through the clues and red herrings, as well as the photo inserts that add a bit of realism to the story.

Night Film Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9780812979787
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Random House Trade - July 1st, 2014

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY
NPR - Cosmopolitan - Kirkus Reviews - BookPage


The View from Penthouse B by Elinor Lipman

Elinor Lipman’s delightful new novel The View from Penthouse B is the witty tale of unexpectedly widowed Gwen, who moves in with her divorced sister Margot. Margot’s ex-husband is a fertility doctor (much scandal in that divorce…), and they lost money in a Ponzi scheme. There is a third tenant, cupcake-baker Timothy.

The View from Penthouse B Cover Image
$14.95
ISBN: 9780544228078
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Mariner Books - April 8th, 2014

"It's all wonderful fun. Lipman sketches her characters' foibles with amused affection and moves the plot forward with practiced ease." - Washington Post


Jeeves and the Wedding Bells

Fans of P.G. Wodehouse: rejoice! Sebastian Faulks has written a delightful new novel, Jeeves and the Wedding Bells, a very funny homage to Wodehouse’s idyllic England and the escapades of Jeeves and Bertie Wooster as depicted in his many humorous novels. Faulks has masterfully captured the original nuances, humor and language. It’s just a joy to slip into this world again!

Jeeves and the Wedding Bells Cover Image
$25.99
ISBN: 9781250047595
Availability: Hard to Find
Published: St. Martin's Press - November 5th, 2013

Bertie Wooster (a young man about town) and his butler Jeeves (the very model of the modern manservant) return in their first new novel in nearly forty years: "Jeeves and the Wedding Bells" by Sebastian Faulks.


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Rochelle’s Reviews