You are here

Non-Fiction Reviews

Prince Charles: The Passions and Paradoxes of an Improbable Life

The new biography, Prince Charles: The Passions and Paradoxes of an Improbable Life by Sally Bedell Smith, is worth the time despite its girth. A teenager when Charles married Diana, I have long disliked and blamed him for all that followed. Smith's exhaustive exploration of his life has helped me move past that and even to appreciate the man for who he is: a reluctant royal with loves and ambitions that do not necessarily suit his role as the Queen and others might interpret it.

Staff Pick Logo
Prince Charles: The Passions and Paradoxes of an Improbable Life Cover Image
$32.00
ISBN: 9781400067909
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Random House - April 4th, 2017

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER - The life and loves of Prince Charles are illuminated in a major new biography from the New York Times bestselling author of Elizabeth the Queen--perfect for fans of The Crown.


Consuming the Congo: War and Conflict Minerals in the World's Deadliest Place

How many times a day do you use your cellphone? Computer? Have a diamond ring? The western world depends on the minerals being harvested from the Congo, and the labor that which provides it. (Can also be spelled "Kongo") 5,000,000, yes, 5 million, you read that right, have died in the conflict in the Kingdom of Congo since WWII. This book explores first-hand experience, interviews, images, and data to educate readers on what is happening in the world's deadliest place.

Staff Pick Logo
Consuming the Congo: War and Conflict Minerals in the World's Deadliest Place Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781613736654
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Chicago Review Press - October 1st, 2016

Every time you use a cell phone or log on to a computer, you could be contributing to the death toll in the bloodiest, most violent region in the world: the eastern Congo.


Dig If You Will the Picture: Funk, Sex, God, and Genius in the Music of Prince

Ben Greenman’s Dig if You Will the Picture: Funk, Sex, God, and Genius in the Music of Prince doesn’t set out to be a biography (entirely) or a work of criticism (entirely) or a memoir (entirely), instead landing at a mostly-sweet spot in between. The result is a fun read, full of memorable insights and stories. Greenman splits his analysis into four sections, about Prince’s music, meaning, madness, and memory. It’s a nice structure for a book that slides around chronologically but never loses its grip.

Staff Pick Logo
Dig If You Will the Picture: Funk, Sex, God and Genius in the Music of Prince Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9781250128379
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Henry Holt & Company - April 11th, 2017

Named one of the best music books of 2017 by The Wall Street Journal

A unique and kaleidoscopic look into the life, legacy, and electricity of the pop legend Prince and his wideranging impact on our culture


Wonder Women: 25 Innovators, Inventors, and Trailblazers Who Changed History

This book is a collection of women "who broke barriers as scientists, engineers, adventures, and inventors." This is the kind of book I read before I fall asleep at night, and when I wake up in the morning. It features inspirational, incredible, witty, smart, amazing women who continue to prove to us that we can all aspire to do great things with our lives, and that WE SHOULD. This book is about Women who work in STEM, and women who study languages, and everyone in between. What kind of woman do you want to become? Recommended by Jenna.

Staff Pick Logo
Wonder Women: 25 Innovators, Inventors, and Trailblazers Who Changed History Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781594749254
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Quirk Books - October 4th, 2016

A fun and feminist look at forgotten women in science, technology, and beyond, from the bestselling author of THE FANGIRL'S GUIDE TO THE GALAXY

You may think you know women's history pretty well. But have you ever heard of. . .


Understanding Iraq: The Whole Sweep of Iraqi History, From Genghis Khan's Mongols to the Ottoman turks to the British Mandate to the American Occupation

This book explores the relationship between the West and the Middle East in a way that can be easily and quickly digested. Polk recreates and explains the US occupation and places an emphasis on the role that oil has played. The author's experience of over 50 years studying the country provides the reader with a hands-on sense of what is going on in Iraq and within the United States. Recommended by Jenna.

Staff Pick Logo
Understanding Iraq: The Whole Sweep of Iraqi History, from Genghis Khan's Mongols to the Ottoman Turks to the British Mandate to the Ameri Cover Image
$14.99
ISBN: 9780060764692
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Harper Perennial - March 1st, 2006

The Dramatic History of Iraq in One Concise Volume


In the Darkroom

In The Darkroom by Susan Faludi is an incredibly smart, probing act of memoir/biography. After a 27-year estrangement, Faludi gets an email from her father. The email says that he, formerly a toxic force of masculine energy, has undergone gender correction surgery and is now living as a woman in her native Budapest. The story of the evolving father/daughter relationship is worth the price of admission alone. But Faludi isn’t content to simply recount contemporary family events.

Staff Pick Logo
In the Darkroom Cover Image
$32.00
ISBN: 9780805089080
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Metropolitan Books - June 14th, 2016

PULITZER PRIZE FINALIST
ONE OF THE NEW YORK TIMES BOOK REVIEW'S 10 BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR
WINNER OF THE KIRKUS PRIZE


Eleanor and Hick

Eleanor and Hick: The Love Affair That Shaped a First Lady by Susan Quinn. Though it's no secret that Eleanor Roosevelt had a long-term affair with journalist Lorena Hickok, Quinn's careful examination of their decades-long correspondence reveals the depth of both their love and fear during a time when such relationships were strictly verboten. The narrative views the tumultuous days of Depression, world war, and social change through the window of cultural trespass, which offers interesting insights into both a much-studied era and political icon.

Staff Pick Logo
Eleanor and Hick: The Love Affair That Shaped a First Lady Cover Image
$30.00
ISBN: 9781594205408
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Penguin Press - September 27th, 2016

A warm, intimate account of the love between Eleanor Roosevelt and reporter Lorena Hickok--a relationship that, over more than three decades, transformed both women's lives and empowered them to play significant roles in one of the most tumultuous periods in American history


Are We Smart Enough to Know How Smart Animals Are?

Are We Smart Enough to Know How Smart Animals Are? by Frans de Waal. The short answer is--we're getting there. The gist of this fascinating book is that we've long been using the wrong measures for things like "consciousness," "self-awareness," and "intention," all once considered qualities possessed only by humans. But as the many experiments that primatologist de Waal recounts show, if you use the proper controls and keep an open mind, you'll find animals are far more "like" us than we give them credit--which changes everything. Recommended by Kelly

Staff Pick Logo
Are We Smart Enough to Know How Smart Animals Are? Cover Image
$27.95
ISBN: 9780393246186
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: W. W. Norton & Company - April 25th, 2016

What separates your mind from an animal's? Maybe you think it's your ability to design tools, your sense of self, or your grasp of past and future--all traits that have helped us define ourselves as the planet's preeminent species. But in recent decades, these claims have eroded, or even been disproven outright, by a revolution in the study of animal cognition.


We Should All Be Feminists

Well, shouldn’t we be? This is a small collection of essays delving into the versatility of equality and its quintessential necessity for a society to progress. This book demands your attention and leaves you with more questions than answers. It provides a starting point to further pursue equality. How will you be the change? Recommended by Jenna

Staff Pick Logo
We Should All Be Feminists Cover Image
$7.95
ISBN: 9781101911761
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Anchor Books - February 3rd, 2015

The highly acclaimed, provocative New York Times bestseller--a personal, eloquently-argued essay, adapted from the much-admired TEDx talk of the same name--from Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie, award-winning author of Americanah. Here she offers readers a unique definition of feminism for the twenty-first century, one rooted in inclusion and awareness.


The Bridge Ladies

Embedded in the title of Betsy Lerner's The Bridge Ladies is the book's extended metaphor: by taking bridge lessons so she can participate in her mother's long-running bridge club, Lerner is able to renew what has always been a fraught relationship with her mother. At turns poignant and hilarious, this memoir potrays an all-too-common drama between mothers and daughters, crossing a chasm of misunderstanding to reach a patch of common ground of insecurities and affection they didn't know they shared. Recommended by Kelly

The Bridge Ladies: A Memoir Cover Image
$25.99
ISBN: 9780062354464
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Harper Wave - May 3rd, 2016

A fifty-year-old Bridge game provides an unexpected way to cross the generational divide between a daughter and her mother. Betsy Lerner takes us on a powerfully personal literary journey, where we learn a little about Bridge and a lot about life.


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Non-Fiction Reviews