You are here

Last Wednesday Book Group

book-group-icon.jpg

Last Wednesday of the Month Book Group: The Radium Girls

Submitted by ravenbookstore on Thu, 06/01/2017 - 6:20pm
The Radium Girls: The Dark Story of America's Shining Women Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9781492649359
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Sourcebooks - April 18th, 2017

A New York Times, USA Today, and Wall Street Journal Bestseller

"the glowing ghosts of the radium girls haunt us still."--NPR Books

The incredible true story of the women who fought America's Undark danger


Last Wednesday of the Month Book Group: Keep the Aspidistra Flying

Submitted by ravenbookstore on Thu, 06/01/2017 - 6:19pm
Keep the Aspidistra Flying Cover Image
$14.95
ISBN: 9780156468992
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Mariner Books - March 19th, 1969

Gordon Comstock is a poor young man who works in a grubby London bookstore and spends his evenings shivering in a rented room, trying to write. He is determined to stay free of the money world of lucrative jobs, family responsibilities, and the kind of security symbolized by the homely aspidistra plant that sits in every middle-class British window.


Last Wednesday of the Month Book Group: Grandma Gatewood's Walk

Submitted by ravenbookstore on Thu, 06/01/2017 - 6:17pm
Grandma Gatewood's Walk: The Inspiring Story of the Woman Who Saved the Appalachian Trail Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781613734995
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Chicago Review Press - April 2016

Emma Gatewood told her family she was going on a walk and left her small Ohio hometown with a change of clothes and less than two hundred dollars. The next anybody heard from her, this genteel, farm-reared, sixty-seven-year-old great-grandmother had walked 800 miles along the 2,050-mile Appalachian Trail.


Last Wednesday of the Month Book Group: Lucky Boy

Submitted by ravenbookstore on Thu, 06/01/2017 - 6:14pm
Lucky Boy Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9781101982242
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: G.P. Putnam's Sons - January 10th, 2017

A gripping tale of adventure and searing reality, Lucky Boy gives voice to two mothers bound together by their love for one lucky boy.

"Sekaran has written a page-turner that's touching and all too real." --People


Last Wednesday of the Month Book Group: Dumplin'

Submitted by ravenbookstore on Thu, 09/01/2016 - 7:33pm
Dumplin' Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9780062327192
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Balzer & Bray/Harperteen - March 14th, 2017

This beloved novel, a #1 New York Times bestseller, will soon be a major motion picture starring Danielle Macdonald and Jennifer Aniston.

For fans of John Green and Rainbow Rowell comes this powerful novel with the most fearless heroine--self-proclaimed fat girl Willowdean Dickson--from Julie Murphy, the acclaimed author of Side Effects May Vary.


Last Wednesday of the Month Book Group: My Brilliant Friend

Submitted by ravenbookstore on Thu, 09/01/2016 - 7:27pm
My Brilliant Friend, Book One: Childhood, Adolescence Cover Image
By Elena Ferrante, Ann Goldstein (Translator)
$17.00
ISBN: 9781609450786
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Europa Editions - September 25th, 2012

Soon to be an HBO series, book one in the New York Times bestselling Neapolitan quartet about two friends growing up in post-war Italy is a rich, intense, and generous-hearted family epic by Italy's most beloved and acclaimed writer, Elena Ferrante, "one of the great novelists of our time." (Roxana Robinson, The New York Times)


Last Wednesday of the Month Book Group: I Am Malala

Submitted by ravenbookstore on Thu, 09/01/2016 - 7:23pm
I Am Malala: The Girl Who Stood Up for Education and Was Shot by the Taliban Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780316322423
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Back Bay Books - June 2nd, 2015

A MEMOIR BY THE YOUNGEST RECIPIENT OF THE NOBEL PEACE PRIZE
"I come from a country that was created at midnight. When I almost died it was just after midday."
When the Taliban took control of the Swat Valley in Pakistan, one girl spoke out. Malala Yousafzai refused to be silenced and fought for her right to an education.


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Last Wednesday Book Group