You are here

Mystery Reviews

Crossing Places by Elly Griffiths

STAFF REVIEW: Crossing Places by Elly Griffiths

The Crossing Places Cover Image
$14.95
ISBN: 9780547386065
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Mariner Books - September 28th, 2010

The first entry in the acclaimed Ruth Galloway series follows the "captivating"* archaeologist as she investigates a child's bones found on a nearby beach, thought to be the remains of a little girl who went missing ten years before.


Through the Evil Days by Julia Spencer-Fleming

Well, I stayed up all night reading this latest installment in the Rev. Clare Ferguson/Russ Van Alstyne mystery series. It’s cold in the dead of winter in upstate New York, and Russ wants to go ice fishing!  The Rev.

Through the Evil Days Cover Image
$25.99
ISBN: 9780312606848
Availability: Hard to Find
Published: Minotaur Books - November 5th, 2013

In "Through the Evil Days," "New York Times" bestselling author Julia Spencer-Fleming raises the stakes for Russ and Clare, putting their new marriage, their unborn child, a missing teen, and their very own lives on the line.


Spider Woman's Daughter

Happily Tony Hillerman’s daughter, Anne, has chosen to continue the Leaphorn & Chee mystery series, and she does it well. She has taken the character of Bernie Manuelito, wife of Chee, as a major player and once again writes lovingly and informed about the Southwest and Navajo life.

Spider Woman's Daughter Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9780062270481
Availability: Hard to Find
Published: HarperTorch - October 1st, 2013

Anne Hillerman, the talented daughter of bestselling author Tony Hillerman, continues his popular Leaphorn and Chee series with Spider Woman's Daughter, a Navajo Country mystery, filled with captivating lore, startling suspense, bold new characters, vivid color, and rich Southwestern atmosphere.


Garment of Shadows

Sherlock Holmes and Mary Russell Never disappoint! This novel is set in 1920s Morocco in the midst of the Riff Revolt. Homes and Russell lend their aid to historical figures Emin Abel el-Krim and the French Marechal Hubert Lyautey. Full of intrigue and insight into colonial Africa and its politics and culture.

Garment of Shadows: A Novel of Suspense Featuring Mary Russell and Sherlock Holmes Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780553386769
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Bantam - August 20th, 2013

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER


Claire DeWitt and the City of the Dead

This is a fresh and truly original mystery, and Claire is a truly unique P.I. The mystery is set in New Orleans and revolves around the aftermath of hurricane Katrina. It’s hard-boiled, smart, hip and difficult to put down. An exceptionally good mystery with a fascinating protagonist. Recommended by Rochelle.

Claire DeWitt and the City of the Dead Cover Image
$14.99
ISBN: 9780547747613
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Mariner Books - June 5th, 2012

"Delicious and addictive."--Salon.com

"Reads . . . as if David Lynch directed a Raymond Chandler novel."--CNN


Suspect

Third in the Raven Staff Favorite Summer Reads List  Fans of Crais’ Elvis Cole and Joe Pike series of mysteries will want to read his newest book. SUSPECT is very different from the earlier series, but it is just as compelling.   It features a cop, Scott James, who was badly injured in the line of duty and his partner was killed, but after nine months no suspects have been found.   Suffering from post traumatic stress disorder and anger at his co-workers, policemen, who treat him like an invalid, Scott has been reassigned to the K-9 squad.  He meets Maggie, a smart and well-trained German S

Suspect Cover Image
$27.95
ISBN: 9780399161483
Availability: Hard to Find
Published: Putnam Adult - January 22nd, 2013

The explosive new masterpiece of suspense from the #1 New York Times bestselling author.
LAPD cop Scott James is not doing so well. Eight months ago, a shocking nighttime assault by unidentified men killed his partner Stephanie, nearly killed him, and left him enraged, ashamed, and ready to explode. He is unfit for duty until he meets his new partner.


White Heat by M.J. McGrath

Here's the second in a series of favorite summer reads from Raven Bookstore staff. This is a gripping new whodunnit and also a fascinating look at the harsh life in the high Arctic on Canada's Ellesmere Island.  The author writes so knowledgeably about Inuit culture, the natural environment, the greed of energy companies and the spirit of the people who live there.  Edie Kiglatuk is a guide/hun

White Heat Cover Image
$25.95
ISBN: 9780670022489
Availability: Special Order
Published: Viking Adult - August 4th, 2011

A riveting Arctic mystery that marks the fiction debut of a "wickedly talented*" writer. (*"New York Times")


THE YARD by Alex Grecian (Publication Date June 2012)

This is a mystery treat to look forward to in June. Written by a local author, this is what will be the first in a series, I predict. Set in late Victorian London, right after Jack the Ripper has put fear in the people, new mutilating killings begin. This time the victims are detectives with a branch of the Yard, assigned to solve murders in London. You will root for Walter Day, the newest detective; Dr. Bernard Kingsley, self-appointed first forensic pathologist (and his daughter); and Mr. Hammersmith, a compassionate constable who will move on to better things. The writing is fluid, with some hitches as the story moves around, but it’s engaging enough to make you not to want to put it down until you’ve finished it. Recommended by Julie.
The Yard Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780425261279
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: G.P. Putnam's Sons - April 2nd, 2013

As Jack the Ripper's reign of terror in London comes to an end, a new era of depravity sets the stage for the first gripping mystery featuring the detectives of Scotland Yard's Murder Squad.

"If Charles Dickens isn't somewhere clapping his hands for this one, Wilkie Collins surely is."--The New York Times Book Review


CROOKED LETTER, CROOKED LETTER by Tom Franklin

This is a superb book that tells the story of two boys, one black and one white, growing up in a small Mississippi town in the 1970s. A teenage girl disappears, and the main suspect is the white teenager, but no charges are ever brought because there is no evidence. Still, the town ostracizes him for 25 years, until another girl goes missing. So much is excellent in this book, namely the nuanced portrayal of these main characters and of their parents and friends, who weave in and out of their lives, and the rural Southern society and landscape, which is an important part of the plot. Rarely do you find a novel with such crisp yet delicate dialogue, which does so much to reveal character and plot. It is so often very brief, only one word or two, but so much is said or implied. The title comes from the rhyme that Southern children learn when spelling "Mississippi", but the duality implied by the repeated phrase is a major theme in this book. It’s the best fiction I’ve read in a long time. Recommended by Pat.
Crooked Letter, Crooked Letter Cover Image
$14.99
ISBN: 9780060594671
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Harper Perennial - May 17th, 2011

"The classic trifecta of talent, heart, and a bone-deep sense of storytelling....A masterful performance, deftly rendered and deeply satisfying. For days on end, I woke with this story on my mind."


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Mystery Reviews