You are here

Kelly’s Reviews

Emily Alone

Each in the pair of novels Wish You Were Here and Emily Alone by Stuart O'Nan is perfect on its own, and together they are magic. In Wish, Emily Maxwell spends a strained week with her adult children, grandchildren, sister-in-law, and her arthritic dog, Rufus, in a summer lake cabin while it pours rain. The foundations of the intricate relationships established in this first novel are built upon in Emily Alone, a perfect novel to read this time of year with its autumnal beginning.

Emily, Alone Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780143120490
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Penguin Books - December 27th, 2011

A bittersweet tale of love and longing from the bestselling author of Last Night at the Lobster.

O'Nan's newest novel, City of Secrets, is now available from Viking.


In Good Faith: Secular Parenting in a Religious World

In Good Faith: Secular Parenting in a Religious World isn't a one-size-fits-all solution for every parent: That's its beauty. By following the same freethinking instincts that have landed them safely ashore of a religious-free life, readers can use author Maria Polonchek's brave and revelatory descriptions of her own experience and her cogent suggestions to raise thoughtful, compassionate, and engaged children without religion.

In Good Faith: Secular Parenting in a Religious World Cover Image
$40.80
ISBN: 9781442270664
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Rowman & Littlefield Publishers - August 8th, 2017

Part memoir, part cultural exploration, this book covers the author's journey as she grows up in an evangelical Christian home, leaves religion behind as a young adult, and goes on to raise children in a family outside of religious belief.


This Blessed Earth: A Year in the Life of an American Family Farm

Farming is a gamble. The new book, This Blessed Earth: A Year in the Life of an American Family Farm, makes this abundantly clear. Author Ted Genoways alternates between discussions of the common challenges facing small family farms with chapters focusing on two Nebraska families struggling to make ends meet while sorting out the vagaries of climate, consumer demand, and government subsidies and regulations. A moving, painful, and important read about a topic that should be a far larger part of the national dialogue. Recommended by Kelly

Staff Pick Logo
This Blessed Earth: A Year in the Life of an American Family Farm Cover Image
$26.95
ISBN: 9780393292572
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: W. W. Norton & Company - September 19th, 2017

The family farm lies at the heart of our national identity, yet its future is in peril. Rick Hammond grew up on a small ranch, and for forty years he has raised cattle and crops on his wife's fifth-generation homestead in York County, Nebraska, in hopes of passing it on to their four children. But as the handoff nears, their small family farm--and their entire way of life--are under siege.


Dear Reader

Lawrencian Mary O'Connell's latest book Dear Reader will satisfy adult and young adult reader alike. The story is told from a dual point of view. One narrator, misfit Catholic school student Flanner, goes alone to New York City in search of her missing English teacher Miss Sweeney, when the copy of Wuthering Heights she finds in her teacher's bag takes on a life of its own; it literally becomes Miss Sweeney's own tale of lost love, leaving clues to her whereabouts along the way.

Dear Reader Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781250077080
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Flatiron Books - May 9th, 2017

"Imaginative, exhilarating, genre-bending, and one of the best YA novels of the year." --BookRiot

"An audacious tale. Like much classic literature and like growing up, reading this immersive novel is all about the experience." --The Horn Book

An IndieNext Pick


Meanwhile There Are Letters: The Correspondence of Eudora Welty and Ross MacDonald

I love discovering one writer through the relationship with another, as I did Ross MacDonald through his letters to Eudora Welty. This is a memoir of the relationship between the most talented and private of Southern novelists, Welty, and noir mystery writer, MacDonald, who had long admired each others writing before they began corresponding. Though many assumed Welty looked at life through the lens of a dutiful spinster, caring for her aging mother and ailing brother, this lovely book proves otherwise.

Meanwhile There Are Letters: The Correspondence of Eudora Welty and Ross MacDonald Cover Image
By Suzanne Marrs (Editor), Tom Nolan (Editor)
$19.99
ISBN: 9781628727531
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Arcade Publishing - June 6th, 2017

A 2016 Edgar Award finalist, the "intimate, luminous portrait of a friendship" of two American literary icons (Kirkus, starred review).


Meanwhile There Are Letters: The Correspondence of Eudora Welty and Ross MacDonald

I love discovering one writer through the relationship with another, as I did Ross MacDonald through his letters to Eudora Welty. This is a memoir of the relationship between the most most talented but most private of Southern novelists, Welty, and noir mystery writer, MacDonald, who had long admired each others writing before they began corresponding. Though many assumed Welty looked at life through the lens of a dutiful spinster, caring for her aging mother and ailing brother, this lovely book proves otherwise.

Meanwhile There Are Letters: The Correspondence of Eudora Welty and Ross MacDonald Cover Image
By Suzanne Marrs (Editor), Tom Nolan (Editor)
$19.99
ISBN: 9781628727531
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Arcade Publishing - June 6th, 2017

A 2016 Edgar Award finalist, the "intimate, luminous portrait of a friendship" of two American literary icons (Kirkus, starred review).


Needle in the Bone

I'm late to arrive at Lawrence-based writer Caryn Miriam-Golberg's book Needle in the Bone: How a Holocaust Survivor and a Polish Resistance Fighter Beat the Odds and Found Each Other. The book tells the difficult and yet ultimately triumphant tale of late Lawrence residents Lou Frydman and Jarek Piekalkiewicz who both survived Nazi death camps and marches during the Holocaust. Frydman, along with his brother Abe were taken by the German army during the Warsaw Ghetto uprising. By the end of the war, everyone in his extended family had been killed except the two brothers.

Staff Pick Logo
Needle in the Bone: How a Holocaust Survivor and a Polish Resistance Fighter Beat the Odds and Found Each Other Cover Image
$29.95
ISBN: 9781612345680
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Potomac Books - November 1st, 2012

Needle in the Bone tells the astonishing stories of Holocaust survivor Lou Frydman and former Polish resistance fighter Jarek Piekalkiewicz. As mere teenagers during World War II, the two men defied daunting odds, lost everything and nearly everyone in the war, and yet summoned the courage to start new lives in the United States.


Prince Charles: The Passions and Paradoxes of an Improbable Life

The new biography, Prince Charles: The Passions and Paradoxes of an Improbable Life by Sally Bedell Smith, is worth the time despite its girth. A teenager when Charles married Diana, I have long disliked and blamed him for all that followed. Smith's exhaustive exploration of his life has helped me move past that and even to appreciate the man for who he is: a reluctant royal with loves and ambitions that do not necessarily suit his role as the Queen and others might interpret it.

Staff Pick Logo
Prince Charles: The Passions and Paradoxes of an Improbable Life Cover Image
$32.00
ISBN: 9781400067909
Availability: Backordered
Published: Random House - April 4th, 2017

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER - The life and loves of Prince Charles are illuminated in a major new biography from the New York Times bestselling author of Elizabeth the Queen--perfect for fans of The Crown.


Gap of Time

This is a solid retelling of Shakespeare's The Winter's Tale. The characters are modern but every bit as much is at stake. It's a cautionary tale about the danger of jealousy that never loses its relevance. Recommended by Kelly

Staff Pick Logo
The Gap of Time Cover Image
$15.00
ISBN: 9780804141376
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Hogarth Press - June 21st, 2016

The Winter's Tale is one of Shakespeare's "late plays." It tells the story of a king whose jealousy results in the banishment of his baby daughter and the death of his beautiful wife. His daughter is found and brought up by a shepherd on the Bohemian coast, but through a series of extraordinary events, father and daughter, and eventually mother too, are reunited.


The Home Place: Memoirs of a Colored Man's Love Affair with Nature

In a series of linked essays about his childhood in rural Edgefield, South Carolina, Lanham reclaims an environmental love and ethos for people of color. He is a self-described "eco-addict," who loves nature because "I've yet to have a wild creature question my identity.

Staff Pick Logo
The Home Place: Memoirs of a Colored Man's Love Affair with Nature Cover Image
$24.00
ISBN: 9781571313157
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Milkweed Editions - October 11th, 2016

"In me, there is the red of miry clay, the brown of spring floods, the gold of ripening tobacco. All of these hues are me; I am, in the deepest sense, colored." From these fertile soils of love, land, identity, family, and race emerges The Home Place, a big-hearted, unforgettable memoir by ornithologist and professor of ecology J. Drew Lanham.


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Kelly’s Reviews