You are here

Kelly’s Reviews

Dear Reader

Lawrencian Mary O'Connell's latest book Dear Reader will satisfy adult and young adult reader alike. The story is told from a dual point of view. One narrator, misfit Catholic school student Flanner, goes alone to New York City in search of her missing English teacher Miss Sweeney, when the copy of Wuthering Heights she finds in her teacher's bag takes on a life of its own; it literally becomes Miss Sweeney's own tale of lost love, leaving clues to her whereabouts along the way.

Dear Reader Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781250077080
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Flatiron Books - May 9th, 2017

"Dear Reader is a story for anyone who believes in the power of books to help you figure out your life and remind you to go out and live it." Book Riot


Meanwhile There Are Letters: The Correspondence of Eudora Welty and Ross MacDonald

I love discovering one writer through the relationship with another, as I did Ross MacDonald through his letters to Eudora Welty. This is a memoir of the relationship between the most talented and private of Southern novelists, Welty, and noir mystery writer, MacDonald, who had long admired each others writing before they began corresponding. Though many assumed Welty looked at life through the lens of a dutiful spinster, caring for her aging mother and ailing brother, this lovely book proves otherwise.

Meanwhile There Are Letters: The Correspondence of Eudora Welty and Ross MacDonald Cover Image
By Suzanne Marrs (Editor), Tom Nolan (Editor)
$19.99
ISBN: 9781628727531
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Arcade Publishing - June 6th, 2017

A 2016 Edgar Award finalist, the "intimate, luminous portrait of a friendship" of two American literary icons (Kirkus, starred review).


Meanwhile There Are Letters: The Correspondence of Eudora Welty and Ross MacDonald

I love discovering one writer through the relationship with another, as I did Ross MacDonald through his letters to Eudora Welty. This is a memoir of the relationship between the most most talented but most private of Southern novelists, Welty, and noir mystery writer, MacDonald, who had long admired each others writing before they began corresponding. Though many assumed Welty looked at life through the lens of a dutiful spinster, caring for her aging mother and ailing brother, this lovely book proves otherwise.

Meanwhile There Are Letters: The Correspondence of Eudora Welty and Ross MacDonald Cover Image
By Suzanne Marrs (Editor), Tom Nolan (Editor)
$19.99
ISBN: 9781628727531
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Arcade Publishing - June 6th, 2017

A 2016 Edgar Award finalist, the "intimate, luminous portrait of a friendship" of two American literary icons (Kirkus, starred review).


Needle in the Bone

I'm late to arrive at Lawrence-based writer Caryn Miriam-Golberg's book Needle in the Bone: How a Holocaust Survivor and a Polish Resistance Fighter Beat the Odds and Found Each Other. The book tells the difficult and yet ultimately triumphant tale of late Lawrence residents Lou Frydman and Jarek Piekalkiewicz who both survived Nazi death camps and marches during the Holocaust. Frydman, along with his brother Abe were taken by the German army during the Warsaw Ghetto uprising. By the end of the war, everyone in his extended family had been killed except the two brothers.

Staff Pick Logo
Needle in the Bone: How a Holocaust Survivor and a Polish Resistance Fighter Beat the Odds and Found Each Other Cover Image
$29.95
ISBN: 9781612345680
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Potomac Books - November 1st, 2012

Needle in the Bone tells the astonishing stories of Holocaust survivor Lou Frydman and former Polish resistance fighter Jarek Piekalkiewicz. As mere teenagers during World War II, the two men defied daunting odds, lost everything and nearly everyone in the war, and yet summoned the courage to start new lives in the United States.


Prince Charles: The Passions and Paradoxes of an Improbable Life

The new biography, Prince Charles: The Passions and Paradoxes of an Improbable Life by Sally Bedell Smith, is worth the time despite its girth. A teenager when Charles married Diana, I have long disliked and blamed him for all that followed. Smith's exhaustive exploration of his life has helped me move past that and even to appreciate the man for who he is: a reluctant royal with loves and ambitions that do not necessarily suit his role as the Queen and others might interpret it.

Staff Pick Logo
Prince Charles: The Passions and Paradoxes of an Improbable Life Cover Image
$32.00
ISBN: 9781400067909
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Random House - April 4th, 2017

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER - The life and loves of Prince Charles are illuminated in a major new biography from the New York Times bestselling author of Elizabeth the Queen--perfect for fans of The Crown.


Gap of Time

This is a solid retelling of Shakespeare's The Winter's Tale. The characters are modern but every bit as much is at stake. It's a cautionary tale about the danger of jealousy that never loses its relevance. Recommended by Kelly

Staff Pick Logo
The Gap of Time Cover Image
$15.00
ISBN: 9780804141376
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Hogarth Press - June 21st, 2016

The Winter's Tale is one of Shakespeare's "late plays." It tells the story of a king whose jealousy results in the banishment of his baby daughter and the death of his beautiful wife. His daughter is found and brought up by a shepherd on the Bohemian coast, but through a series of extraordinary events, father and daughter, and eventually mother too, are reunited.


The Home Place: Memoirs of a Colored Man's Love Affair with Nature

In a series of linked essays about his childhood in rural Edgefield, South Carolina, Lanham reclaims an environmental love and ethos for people of color. He is a self-described "eco-addict," who loves nature because "I've yet to have a wild creature question my identity.

Staff Pick Logo
The Home Place: Memoirs of a Colored Man's Love Affair with Nature Cover Image
$24.00
ISBN: 9781571313157
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Milkweed Editions - October 11th, 2016

"In me, there is the red of miry clay, the brown of spring floods, the gold of ripening tobacco. All of these hues are me; I am, in the deepest sense, colored." From these fertile soils of love, land, identity, family, and race emerges The Home Place, a big-hearted, unforgettable memoir by ornithologist and professor of ecology J. Drew Lanham.


Tru and Nelle

Tru and Nelle by Neri G. is a terrific young adult book about the friendship between Truman Capote and Nelle Harper Lee. Based on real events in the lives of these two literary figures, the book in many ways mirrors To Kill a Mockingbird, hinting at the real characters and events in Monroeville, Alabama that gave birth to their parallels in the novel. It's beautifully written and has both the adventure and moral peril present in To Kill a Mockingbird. Highly recommended by Kelly.

Staff Pick Logo
Tru & Nelle Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780544699601
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Houghton Mifflin - March 1st, 2016

Long before they became famous writers, Truman Capote (In Cold Blood) and Harper Lee (To Kill a Mockingbird) were childhood friends in Monroeville, Alabama. This fictionalized account of their time together opens at the beginning of the Great Depression, when Tru is seven and Nelle is six.


Eleanor and Hick

Eleanor and Hick: The Love Affair That Shaped a First Lady by Susan Quinn. Though it's no secret that Eleanor Roosevelt had a long-term affair with journalist Lorena Hickok, Quinn's careful examination of their decades-long correspondence reveals the depth of both their love and fear during a time when such relationships were strictly verboten. The narrative views the tumultuous days of Depression, world war, and social change through the window of cultural trespass, which offers interesting insights into both a much-studied era and political icon.

Staff Pick Logo
Eleanor and Hick: The Love Affair That Shaped a First Lady Cover Image
$30.00
ISBN: 9781594205408
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Penguin Press - September 27th, 2016

A warm, intimate account of the love between Eleanor Roosevelt and reporter Lorena Hickok--a relationship that, over more than three decades, transformed both women's lives and empowered them to play significant roles in one of the most tumultuous periods in American history


The Little Stranger

The Little Stranger by Sarah Waters is a ghost story for everyone. By everyone, I mean those who love ghost stories and also those who resist them. The writing is so spot-on and the hauntings so psychologically resonant, that they give even the skeptical reader pause. The Ayres' family estate is crumbling. Its remaining residents, Emily, her shell-shocked son Roderick, and sturdy, unmarried daughter Caroline, make an ill-fated decision to host a party to re-establish themselves in the social scene of Warwickshire, England.

Staff Pick Logo
The Little Stranger Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9781594484469
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Riverhead Books - May 4th, 2010

"The #1 book of 2009...Several sleepless nights are guaranteed."--Stephen King, Entertainment Weekly


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Kelly’s Reviews